We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Food, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kama Sutra Glasgow

Kama Sutra Glasgow
331 Sauchiehall Street | Opposite Dental Hospital / Walking Distance From King's Theatre, Glasgow G2 3HU, Scotland
+44 141 332 0055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Vegetarian, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Release your inner strumpet at the Kama Sutra, a salacious Indian on Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street. A truly tantalising feast for the senses, this intimate candlelit restaurant boasts a menu with titles including 'Saucy Suggestions' and 'Old Flames'. The exotic eastern cuisine includes favourites such as the popular karahi bhoona, and low-calorie curries such as the salmon and prawn masala. The Mixed Thali menu gives set menu options for two, or if you're feeling abnormally audacious, four. Popular for business lunches and parties, the Kama Sutra restaurant attracts both tourists and locals, and has a downstairs function room with DJs and a karaoke machine.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is the second time I have eaten here, and both times the food has been excellent. I had a fish curry , the name of which escapes me, (Moghgler something?) which was very good but my colleague had an Indian version that he thought was fantastic, I did get to try a bit of it and I have to say it did taste wonderful.
The nan bread are huge, and lovely, my only problem at this place is that I can't finish it all so I don't order sides!
I don't recognise a lot of the dishes on their menu as typical curry house fare, so it's nice to try something different, and so far so (very) good.
The staff are really helpful and friendly.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    157
    51
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Black Country
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Always well worth a visit when in town. Authentic, clean, warm, comfortable, nice ambience, great food, friendly staff. What more could you want?

Shame you can't rate higher than 5!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Visited the Kama Sutra for early evening meal on way to the theatre, and had the special pre theatre dinner. It was a very welcoming place, had a few laughs with the waiters, and then the food! We were expecting to get miniature versions of the normal starter size pakora, but it was very generous. Nice salad with it, and tasty sauce. We had a kurma and a dosa to share, and both were really tasty. Service was prompt, just what we wanted as we headed to the theatre. Looking forward to returning here soon. See they do a super bargain price for the lunch special too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanks trip advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

In glasgow for two nights and thanks to trip advisor picked two great resturaunts Opium and Kama Sutra. Kama sutra is a very smart welcoming resturaunt the staff were so friendly and helpful, the food was beautifully presented and so tasty. Can't wait for our next visit to glasgow to eat there again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first visit and we really enjoyed it. Very warm, friendly welcome and very family friendly. The service was excellent and I liked being offered the opportunity to wait for 5 minutes before getting our main courses. Couldn't fault the service and we had a good banter with the hosts.
Would definitely return and would recommend this establishment to anyone who fancied an Indian in Glasgow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kama Sutra Glasgow also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Kama Sutra Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kama Sutra Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.