We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
97-99 Candleriggs St. | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland (City Centre)
0141-553-1577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
1 review
“Cracking deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Dined here on a number of special occasions before so new to expect good quality and it disappoint. We took advantage of The Big Deal and couldn't have got more of a bargain 3 delicious courses and a glass of wine each, all for just £20!
Friendly, attentive staff, a must-go for visitors and Glaswegians alike.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Glad you took advantage of the Big Deal we ran, and very happy you were delighted when you visited. Look out for our next deal - I am sure we will run another one later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    123
    43
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A must visit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Last night my partner and i had a lovely meal here, and although the food was fantastic we were absolutely taken aback by the helpful staff!, we eat out everywhere and i must say i have never came across such professionalism. Oh and yes,, the mussels, mackerel, hake and cheese dishes were wonderful ! Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. We try to always use great Scottish produce as it speaks for itself. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great steak in the sea food bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We'd booked ahead and had a table on the balcony which gives a great view of the restaurant. It was a busy friday night and we'd arrived at the same time as another large table of diners were just getting ready, but the staff were attentive and helpful.
The cocktail menu was good but not extensive, but there was a good selection of wine by the glass and/or bottle. The food was very tasty and portion size was good - not to small but not an overloaded plate.
Would definitely recommend this place for the atmosphere and the quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your steak when you visited and thanks for posting a picture - we would love more customer to to do that :) Hope you visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good experience, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here last night, Gemma took care of us and she was so friendly and helpful. We loved the interior. The food was good to great. I had the pumpkin risotto, my wife had the salmon which was very good, my daughter had the chicken.
It was a lovely experience and we would return, particularly for the service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the lovely comments. thanks for the comments on our interior decoration, we thinks it's quirky and comfy. We hope you visit us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a really nice waitress who was very helpful and knew her stuff. I enjoyed my meal (oysters to start and venison main). The restaurant as a whole had a good atmosphere and nice place to relax, eat and drink. Would definitely come again if I was in the area and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.