We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy for the SCO concerts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Merchant

City Merchant
97-99 Candleriggs St. | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland (City Centre)
0141-553-1577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“handy for the SCO concerts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went for the pre theatre meal which represented good value at £12.50 for two courses. The starter of mussels was very enjoyable followed by hake which was also very well presented being cooked to a perfect degree of moistness.

The wine list was not too heavily priced for a city centre. The service was reasonably OK after some initial difficulties. Certainly it will be worth a second visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review, we are very happy you enjoyed your experience. May I ask what the initial difficulties you had? If you don't mind letting me know on info@citymerchant.co.uk as we would like to know, so we may rectify any issues in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    136
    52
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been here many times now and cannot fault this restaurant. The service is always impeccable and friendly and the food superb. 2 course lunch was only £9.95 and for the dishes my girlfriend and I got I cannot believe the quality and quantity! The braised feather blade of beef was so good I almost licked the plate.

Already looking forward to my next visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We don't mind if you lick the plate, just try to be discreet...thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosol, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Theatre menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great idea the theatre menu is, especially when you get to eat excellent food at a reasonable price. The bonus is good, friendly service and speed without haste. We would almost book another concert at City Halls just for the pleasure of an early dinner at City Merchant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Often people dine here before going to the concert across the road but we like your comment that we are the main event and you would have to book the concert just to see us! We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality food, good service, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

With a group of friends I had enjoyed dinner here a few weeks ago and we decided on this occasion to try the set price lunch Two courses cost £9.95 with a very nice selection of 6 starters and 6 main courses. Pumpkin prawn and coconut soup was good and the catch of the day was equally enjoyable. Desserts are priced at £2.50 so who could resist that, none of us! Coffee followed. All in all a most enjoyable lunch with friends, good efficient and friendly service and no problem in sitting chatting at the end of the meal which was also appreciated.
I sense another visit coming up shortly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
it's always nice to catch up with friends and we are happy you chose our wee place to do so. We look forward to your return visit and thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Had pre theatre menu with a group of friends last night. The food was superb & we had a fantastic time! We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Manager at City Merchant, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thanks for the review! Hope you visit again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Merchant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to City Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.