We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great curries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wee Curry Shop

Wee Curry Shop
7 Buccleuch Street, Glasgow G3 6SJ, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 (0)141 353 0777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 1,720 restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Anderston
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have visited all three of the Wee Curry Shops in Glasgow, but the original one, which is in Ashton Lane is still excellent and probably the best. The others which are also good are in Byres Road and Buccleuch Street. All the restaurants are small and at peak times, you need to book.

Glasgow has some of the best curry houses in the country and this is one of the best,Have eaten there on several occasions and each dish has been good, Worth trying their taster menu at lunchtime. the evening menus may not be as large as some of the other bigger restaurants, but everything is fresh and portions are good. service is also very good.
Can be reached easily by clockwork orange as Ashton lane is behind Hillhead station, and is found above Jinty McGinty's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    76
    37
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great tasting Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Great tasting traditional Indian food. It does live up to its name as it is very small - maybe too small as we felt slightly cramped at our particular table. Would recommend booking for weekends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wee shop but BIG flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Been there a few times, not big menu but the food is outstanding. We had chilli garlic chicken curry, it came surprisingly with pickled garlic, delicious! Lamb karahi was great and a must order is 'spinach paratha'.
The place is small and quirky with a tiny shelf to put your drink on so it's out of the way from tiny table. Booking is advisable.
Great place for pre-theatre/cinema or after show and really good value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tiny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tiny little restaurant - so much so if you are early and have to wait for your table you'll have to wait outside. Not many dishes available on the menu, but that said we were all delighted with the quality of the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bland Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Was really looking forward to trying this place a few months back but unfortunetly I was extreemly dissapointed. There was 3 of us and we decided to order 3 different curries of different streghts etc and to be honet the only diffrence we could see or taste was that one was chicken, one was lamb and the other prawns. All tasted exactly the same and were watery and bland. I am a curry lover and have tried just about every resturant in and around the Glasgow area and Im afraid this one just does not make the grade. Awful.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wee Curry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Wee Curry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wee Curry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.