We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Soba

Bar Soba
11 Mitchell Lane, Glasgow G1 3NU, Scotland (Anderston)
+44 141 204 2404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #622 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Sushi, Noodle, Pan-Asian, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Anderston
Description: Our award-winning flagship bar & restaurant opened in 1999 and, whilst there have been a few changes to the Far Eastern-inspired decor, we've maintained our reputation for serving high quality Pan-Asian street food and exciting and inventive cocktails. We pride ourselves on our generous portions of mouth-watering, authentic Asian cuisine, served by our friendly and attentive staff, in a cool and intimate environment - only a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of Glasgow's city centre.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Love the cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have visited here on many occasions and I can't wait to go back, I know I won't be disappointed. The cocktails are fabulous and a good price. Food was not the best to be honest but I have always known soba for drinks and not food

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Arelene,

Thank you for your review, was very pleased to hear you enjoy our cocktails so much.
Apologies if your food was not up to scratch last time you were in. Our Pan Asian street food menu is generally very popular so if your back in for cocktails soon give it a try, hopefully you'll see how good it can be.

Kind Regards,

Bar Soba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    76
    37
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alfresco Dining.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After a boat trip on the Clyde we stumbled across this outdoor restaurant in the heart of the city. Whilst we didn't eat (apart from some chips) the atmosphere was lovely and a great spot for people watching, whilst listening to up and coming bands. We had some white wine which was served in chilled glasses and at a perfect temperature, just as it should be which complimented the unusually hot weather.

The food at other tables looked fantastic and I would definitely come back here.

A must whilst out shopping!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Myself and the staff were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience so much.
Hopefully see you back soon to sample our full menu.

Kind Regards,

Bar Soba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wine and Chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The sun is glorious which I understand is rare in Glasgow. So this review is not about the inside restaurant but the Terrace area in the high street. We ordered white wine and I saw the bar person fill 2 glasses with loads of ice and water to chill the glasses before filling with the wine. We then ordered chips which came with a sweet chilli dip! Yum! Service also very good! So this review is based on sunshine, wine and chips only but I thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Soba. I was very pleased to here you enjoyed your experience in our street café. Hopefully see you back again if the weather gets better, if not there's always the main restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Bar Soba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good venue for food if your going out after.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I've been here a few times and really enjoy the food! It's decent priced and the cocktail menu is pretty good too! Service was good. The music is pretty loud which I thinks works well if your going out after, however if you fancy a quite meal this really isn't the place for you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the food, service and cocktails on your last visit. We do realise the bar gets very busy and loud particularly at the weekends. We seat most of our customers in the quitter restaurant area when busy but we also serve food in the bar so people can sit there if they prefer a livelier atmosphere.
We'll be revamping our food menu shortly so hopefully we'll see you in again soon to sample it.

Kind Regards,

Bar Soba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited last night and have to say the food was brilliant. We had the chicken sate ayam, chicken pakora were terrific & the peanut sauce accompanyment was great. Followed by holy basil chilli chicken & jasmine rice: beef curry in anise .This is not a dedicated Thai restaurant but the food is better than any other Thai restaurant in the area. It's a very lively place but you can sit in the quieter downstairs area. Try it out you won't be disappointed

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Manager at Bar Soba, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you for your review., I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food so much.
We'll be revamping our menu shortly with several new dishes and we've also been making improvements to our existing ones.
Hopefully see you in soon.

Kind Regards,

Bar Soba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Soba also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bar Soba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Soba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.