We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxed place with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firebird Bar & Restaurant

Firebird Bar & Restaurant
1321 Argyle Street, Glasgow G3 8AB, Scotland
+44 (0)141 334 0594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #232 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, relaxed place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Ate here recently as part of a group of 7 and although the curved table proved somewhat difficult, read impossible, for chatting with everyone at the table, the food made up for it. Squid was well cooked and tasty but could have done with less salt. Hanger steak with jerusalem artichoke and pressed potato with thyme was sensational, served rare as it should be!
One of our party ordered the gnocchi which unfortunately arrived cold so they opted for another dish, staff very apologetic and keen to make amends.
Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    51
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Achill Island, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not a bad pizza place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'm actually not a big fan of pizza but I'd heard so much about this place that I really needed to try it.

We visited on a Tuesday night and the place was packed and buzzing - no mean feat nowadays to fill your restaurant on one of the dead nights of the week.

We started with olives, bread and vinegar. This dish was fine though it was difficult to find the vinegar in the oil. This was quickly rectified and the server was happy to bring some separate Balsamic vinegar.

Mains were pizza. A mushroom and spinach job and a plain pizza with red peppers and chillies. These were ok but not spectacular. Globs of tepid mozzarella are not brilliant though the base was difficult to fault - thin and crispy all the way through.

For pudding, cheesecake which was lovely and a toffee apple fool which needs a whole lot more work.

In summary, Firebird is fine. It has a brilliant atmosphere and the pizzas are ok. Service is very good but the servers are overworked for the size of the place. I would go back but would rather try other pizza places first.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Only called in for quick refreshing drink but the menu looked nice and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Would certainly return if we were back in this area of Glasgow

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Solid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My first time here for food and it was a very nice experience! It would be 5 stars but unfortunately my 'rare' hangar steak was very overdone, I almost sent it back but everything else on the plate was so delicious it made up for it! Also it might be an idea not to serve it on a slate as all the tasty sauce ran onto the table!

The other meals at the table were also very nice and very well priced for the quality. The service in particular was great, welcoming, quick, attentive and polite. Looking forward to another visit :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent stop off point on a visit to Kelvingrove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great place to have lunch if you are visiting Kelvingrove. My wife and I both had a combo of a sandwich with hand cut chips. Actually they could have cut off my right arm in exchange for their amazing chips. My Falafel flatbread was brilliant and my wife's serrano ham sandwich got full marks from her as well. So, if you are in the neighbourhood I would thoroughly recommend Firebird for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebird Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Firebird Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firebird Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.