We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gets better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mussel Inn

Mussel Inn
157 Hope Street, Glasgow G2 2UQ, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 (0)141 572 1405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Description: The Mussel Inn is one of Glasgow’s première restaurants. Despite the name, our restaurant offers a much wider variety of food than just Scottish West Coast mussels served with our unique and delicious range of sauces. Our seafood dishes also include Creamy Seafood Chowder, Grilled King Scallops and Queen Scallops, Scottish oysters, and our amazing seafood platter (Mini Seafood Platter also available).
preston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“gets better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

my wife and I went up to glasgows mussel inn for the fifth time and i actually think it gets better each time. we had the "may saver menu",which i have to say is superb vfm,for£15 you get three course which we have never managed on the normal menu, so i think its a really good idea.We both had fish cakes, nice, followed by the tastiest seafood pasta dish i have ever had in my life, ten of the most tender mussels,four juicy king prawns and about half a dozen queenys in a superb pasta and sauce, sticky date desert to end, brill all round! i hope the chefs know how good they are!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    164
    36
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, and amazing value. By far the best seafood place in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food here is amazing. Scottish seafood done well i.e. no overpowering sauces so the star on your plate is the seafood that you order.

staff are great and know when not to bother you unlike other places whilst still keeping you looked after.

will go again v soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good quality at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place on Hope Street has it just right.

Mid priced seafood fare that is consistently good after many repeat visits. The core menu is good and supplemented by daily specials.

The 1/2 kilo and kilo pot mussels are a good choice and nicely priced. The seafood platter is consistently good as is the seafood chowder. I especially like that they do not skimp on bread...they gave us about three quarters of a french baguette on this visit.

One minor gripe...the chips...please please do a moules et frite package...proper skinny fries please.

Service is attentive without asking you every five seconds of everything is OK. Decent wine list.

Always a good choice for an informal dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Recommended. Great food + service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Been many times but went here for my birthday. Food as alway is fabulous. Kilo pot of the mussels very tasty + no problem to make th the way I prefer. Service great. Will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Musselicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked to dine here on the 5pm website on a £15.95 for 3 courses & glass of wine deal.
Limited menu choice, but it was all good stuff.
Really good waitress service, although front of house manageress could have smiled a bit...
Great food, one improvement would be to provide a finger bowl with warm water & lemon - far better than a scented wipe.
Will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mussel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mussel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mussel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.