We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother India

Mother India
28 Westminster Terrace | Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7RU, Scotland (West End)
1412211663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: West End
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Really excellent quality of food at a good price. Would say the rice portion was a bit small but only a minor complaint really. Was really surprised at how quickly we got a table considering it was a Saturday night. Service was at a good pace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    147
    59
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food good company.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Really enjoyed my meal and the service is excellent. If you are wanting to have food on your table quickly this is not the place for you. Authentic Indian food like your family would make if you had family that made good Indian food.

Really enjoyed meeting my old friend Veejay again. It made my evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I don't think we have ever been disappointed, whichever floor we have eaten on, though preferring the ground floor. The staff are always courteous, speedy and the food always fresh with a different special to try most times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Mother of all Indians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This place was highly recommended to us by a friend, we were not disappointed.

The food was fantastic, for starters my partner had the chicken and mushroom pakora and I had a flatbread with chickpea and mushroom (I can't remember the name of it) and then for mains we had garlic chilli chicken and the saag aloo dahr. We had peshwari naan as a side and I think it's the best naan bread I have ever tasted!

The service was excellent, staff were really friendly and the good came quickly.

The meal was reasonably priced at £45 for two starters, two mains, two sides and two drinks.The restaurant itself was full of character. We will definitely return and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It does not get better. Always freshly cooked and after several visits I would say that this is one of the best restaurants in town.What more can I say.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India also viewed

 

Been to Mother India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mother India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.