We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banter galore xx” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
266 Bath Street | G2 4JP, Glasgow, Scotland (City Centre)
0-141 331 5170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Banter galore xx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Long time since I've been in a pub that's makes you feel as welcome as this one! Brilliant service, fantastic meal pre-theatre and brilliant atmosphere before going to theatre, so much so we had to visit after the show and the welcome was just as good. Will def visit anytime I'm in Glasgae, thankyou Bobsy and Derek for making our visit from the North so warm x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    49
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendliest Pub in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the moment we sat down outside this place we were made to feel so welcome. Menus were brought out. Table was reserved for us. The food was excellent especially the King Prawn Pesto Pasta, and the mac cheese and the mince and tatties. Having gone to see Wicked at the Kings theatre, we came back to find our table waiting for us and a royal welcome from Robert and Derek and their wives. Drink flowed, Glasgow banter and great memories were made. Thanks to all the staff for making it such a great day out. Magic

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic night, banter and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went to have a drink and a bite to eat before heading to the theatre and we enjoyed it so much we went straight back after the play! Food was great and very reasonable and the staff and the atmosphere were absolutely fantastic, never felt so welcomed in a new bar in all my life! Will definitely be returning thanks 'Bobsy' ;) - Julia x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited here before theatre. Friendly atmosphere with very attentive staff. Decent sized portions and would recommend the fish cakes. Wine very reasonably priced for a city centre pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for pre-theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great choice for pre-theatre at the Kings. Friendly staff and quick service. Good menu - not fancy but tasty. Staff give feedback on current productions occasionally and always say 'enjoy the show'

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.