We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good prices & atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Griffin

The Griffin
266 Bath Street | G2 4JP, Glasgow, Scotland (City Centre)
0-141 331 5170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very good prices & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is just across the road from the Kings Theatre and the drink prices are very resonable for being in the middle of the Theatre district in the city. 4 drinks for £11 which is very good considering the terrible prices from the theatre itself.
The staff are very friendly and very quick as they obviously get a lot of custom from the theatre interval's. My only comment is the table next to the door is slightly crooked causing the drinks to fall from the table and smash.. Although they cleaned them up very quickly and replaced free of charge, they did say that it happens to that table all the time.. if this is the case then clearly the simple soultion would be to either fix or replace the table...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Glasgow bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This bar and restaurant has been here forever - well a long time! Traditional Glaswegian interior, good value food and lively customers. Handy for theatres and clubs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly traditional.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Close pub in theatre district just out the door and across the road from Premier Inn Charing Cross.
Very friendly staff and good selection of traditional food. First time I tried the haggis in Scotland and it was great. The manager gave me a sample of whiskey to go with it because he said it tasted better with my meal than the beer I was drinking. However, I must say the combination of haggis and whiskey was very enjoyable. But the beer, Caledonia Best was god too. Good experience...they mad us feel at home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loddon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Splendid Glasgow Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tired of designer pubs, the same as the next one? Go to the Griffin to experience a traditional pub atmosphere, olde worlde surroundings and very acceptable food at value for money prices.
My partner had, in her words, 'macaroni cheese to die for', while I opted for the traditional Scottish dish of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties. As the cheery manager cleared the plates, I told him that it was much better and half the price than I had had last week in one of Glasgow's supposedly best restaurants. Not only did he beam with delight, he brought us a complimentary sticky toffee pudding to express his appreciation.
It's not gourmet food. Just down to earth, freshly prepared home cooking in an atmospheric setting.
And I liked it a lot.
Opposite the King's Theatre and just a couple of minutes' walk from Charing Cross station.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“homely, friendly pub x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

fantastic pub grub very friendly staff ,jennifer was a lovely bar person a wealth of information and a lovely lass ,couldnt do enough for you as did mark. busy place but accepted a table booking .right across the road from the kings theatre would recomend it to everyone ,huge menu selection, food was delicious well looked after by jennifer thanks for a great time .xxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Griffin also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Griffin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.