We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish and Seafood at it's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gamba Seafood Restaurant

Gamba Seafood Restaurant
225a West George Street, Glasgow G2 2ND, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 141 572 0899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: West Campbell Street
Transit: Buchanan St underground is a short walk. Queen St station and Glasgow Central station are both close by.
Description: The award-winning Gamba restaurant in Glasgow serves the best seafood available in its own unique style, and has established a formidable reputation for quality.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish and Seafood at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great ambience and buzz about the place. Service was excellent from entering the restaurant to leaving. The choice of menu is super, Chef Derek make use of sustainable fish and show flare and imagination in his cooking and presentation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    99
    27
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hand not been in a while but was not disappointed.
This restaurant has been consistently excellent over the years and continues to exceed my expectations at each visit.
Both the food, the wine together with the comfortable and relaxed ambiance make for a great evening.
Don't think I'll leave it so long till the next time though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Seafood I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved it.

I've eaten in seafood restaraunts everywhere and couldn't find anything to beat the Rocha de Palma in Portugals monkfish broth until this.

Sea Bream to die for and my first time trying a side of Kale. Loved it.

Thank you

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We visited with some friends over from France. The French are famous for their fish soup and they were impressed with the fish soup starter and that is saying something! I deduct a point for the over seasoning of the main course. I went for the mixed seafood with seabream and it felt it was a little salty. My husband and brother had monkfish in a cream sauce and felt the same. We have not asked the visiting couple but they loved the service and atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had wanted to visit Gamba for quite some time and just not got round to it, so when a 3-course voucher deal came up it was fait... We had a pre-dinner drink at the quiet bar prior to being seated quite centrally in the resaurant which has a warm cozy feel in the basement surroundings but you don't feel cramped. The food was really excellent, and on the voucher deal we felt got incredible value, but would happily come back and pay menu price. I dare say we'll be back. I consciously thought if I had any criticisms during the meal. I had none. Thanks Gamba!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gamba Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Gamba Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gamba Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.