We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional Staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton Hotel
248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unprofessional Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Glasgow Newton Hotel, we found ALL the staff extremely unpleasant and ignorant. The reception staff handed us our room key on arrival and then did not tell us how we get to our room - they just left us standing there! I had to ask where do we go to get to our room? They did not tell us where the dining room was for breakfast either!! When we arrived for breakfast following morning we found the diningroom staff unhelpful. They ignored us as we entered the dining room and left us standing there wondering where we should sit as they stormed past us cleaning dishes from other tables. I eventually just picked a table to sit at, then had to catch the attention of a waitress to ask her how we are served breakfast and please can we order breakfast because both waitresses were simply ignoring the fact we had walked into the dining room and sat down for over 5 minutes not knowing what to do. They just cleaned around us as if we were never there!!! Just 2 minutes before we were about to leave the hotel room to head home, we were alarmed by the fact the cleaner was actually banging on our door telling us it was time to leave!!! My fiancee and I do not intend to return to this hotel in future when we visit Glasgow because the staff have no manners.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not on the same side as the reception would be better. We were put into a room right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    57
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
62
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed with a friend for 1 night in Newton Hotel.
The hotel room was comfortable with a double bed and had an good power shower.The room was clean if a bit dark as it was one of the rooms in the basement. Newton Hotel is on the far end of Bath Street. This is a long street so it will take you 10-15 mins to walk to the city centre and Central Station. The staff are all really friendly and helpful.
The room had a small flat-screen tv with Freeview and tea/coffee making facilities. Toiletries were provided. The breakfast was not that tasty but included in the room price, so can't complain..
We had room 7 in the basement, and right next door was a bar with loud music until 1am so beware the noise. The street itself is fairly quiet even though it it a big road.
For the price, the hotel represents good value for money in Glasgow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is close to the center and relatively cheap. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The room was spacious and clean (i especially loved the big glass sink on the bathroom). Some parts were a bit worn out.
Then main problem was the noise: i got a ground-floor room and couldn't sleep at all due to street noise and floor noises- guests that come and go and chat with the staff at the reception desk.
[I left before breakfast, so couldn't comment on that.]
Overall, the hotel is good as long as you avoid this floor.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay on the ground floor- the noise is continuous and unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only decided to go to Glasgow two days before our stay as there was a show on we wanted to watch. Booked this online after a few emails to check availability and car parking. Whilst awaiting the reply overnight the price increased by £5 although as this was a cheap hotel it was still a better price than most of the others I had found. On arrival there had been a mix up with our booking but the guy on the front desk sorted it without any problems and due to the location of our room to our case of my husband to take it to our room by a shortcut. The windows in our room were old and not double glazed there was quite a big draft from them. During the night there was a lot of noise outside from late night revellers and due to the poor window quality this disturbed our sleep (although the nose is not the fault of the hotel of course).The curtains were too small for this window so that did not help with the noise or the draught. The breakfast the following morning was nice and of a good size. Overall a good place to stay and a very reasonable price although the hotel could do with a bit of a spruce up as it looked a little tired in places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Check in at the hotel was quick and easy. I had room 19 which was away from reception and was quiet. The room was a decent size with good en suite facilites. They provided toiletaries too which was nice. Bed was comfy, room was nice and warm. You can access the hotel 24/7 which was good. TV had freeview channels, and worked fine. Only downside was the cooked breakfasts started at 8am on a Saturday which was no good for me as I had a train to catch. I had cereal and juice and coffee though, and the lovely waitress made me some toast. I didnt like the sound of turkey rashers on the menu mind rather than bacon!! All in all not bad for £40, and it is only a five minute or so walk from central railway station.

Room Tip: Room 19 was a quiet single en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I had hesitations upon reading reviews, but the hotel was the closest to where I needed to be and it included a full cooked breakfast. Value for money couldn't have been better; I had fantastic service and could use the ironing facilities, good wifi, fantastic en-suite, hot beverages within the room and a comfy nights sleep. My only complaint would be that the carpet could have been better hoovered.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Awful:
No working lock on the door to our room so I had to pile bags and a chair in front for a tiny sense of security. The lock on the bathroom door was broken too.
Curtains that hang on a broken rail and don't fully cover a ground-floor, street facing window - leaves passers-by free to look straight into the room.
Strong, awful stench from the bathroom; possibly all the mould in the shower (which is either freezing or boiling, no reasonable in-between) or a drain blockage.
Broken lights and a wardrobe levelled out by wedges of wood or cardboard stuffed underneath.

Definitely avoid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Address: 248-252 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.