We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Guest House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amadeus Guest House to your Saves list
Amadeus Guest House
411 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Guest House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I love staying at Amadeus. It is a warm friendly place, where the rooms are clean and full of character. The location is perfect, straddling the busy Great Western Road (which is less than a minute's walk away and full of easy transportation links such as the subway and buses) and the picturesque setting of the Kelvin and surrounding woodland, and is on a generally very quiet road. The cold buffet breakfast is good and varied, the staff are very friendly (without being overbearing in any way) and in terms of value for money, you would struggle to find anywhere this affordable and nice in such a great location. As many people have said, this is an old guesthouse, but I hope any renovation won't strip the house of its own style and individuality, as this is part of its charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
47
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a weekend break at this place. Single room no ensuite. The room was clean as was the shared bathroom. Won't say any more about the room as the place is going to get renovated.
Good, eat all you want, buffet breakfast. Would have been nice to have something hot. The location is is good for the west end and city centre. Good for public transport - buses and especially the subway. A choice of bars and eateries near by and as it's the student quarter they are not expensive. At the weekend there is free on-street parking.
I was a bit nervous about this place because it was cheap - £24 a night for my room - but I had a good experience. Would use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This guest house is brilliant.
Very helpful owner and staff.
The breakfast is very good. Help yourself to all you require of fresh rolls, cereals, yoghurt, cheese, fruit, eggs,toast, fresh coffee, excellent choice of teas,and more.
OK it needs upgrading but for the money it is brilliant. Clean, great location so near to metro, buses and city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afabvre, Owner at Amadeus Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there and thank you for your kind review.

We take pride in our work, and really appreciate your feedback.

Upgrade is taking its time, but is in progress however. We hope you check back in with us again to see how we are getting on...

Take care,

Amadeus Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the AMadeus guest house, I was tucked away in room 7 next to the shower facility. Small single room with dated furniture and peeling/dirty/stained wallpaper. The whole bed and breakfast could do with updating, there is worn away carpet on the stairs, paint which is showing the old wallpaper beneath and the whole place is in need of a touch up. My room had a shared toilet/shower facility, it was a bit grubby with dirt gathering in corners etc. I did see a cleaner every day changing rooms and giving the place a hoover however.
There was a nice choice of breakfast although the yogurts were out of date (by 5 days) and the croissants were a bit hard.
Location is good, nice restaurants and bars nearby. It's a good 20 minute walk to the town centre (at a reasonable pace) but kelvinbridge subway station is 30 seconds from guesthouse.
Overall a pleasant stay but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afabvre, Owner at Amadeus Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there and thank you for your recent review of our property.

I am sorry that you did not bring up some of the issues you raise in your feedback while you were staying with us.

Should you have pointed these out, we could have explained that what we aim to provide is great VALUE accommodation. We take much pride in doing this. Room 7 costs GBP 24.00 per night. For this rate, you received a very clean room in the heart of the West End, with daily make ups, fresh laundry which is hired from a professional laundry hire company, and a full generous continental breakfast. ( I completely agree that the yoghurts however should not have been expired, and should this have been pointed out to the staff, these would have been removed immediately- as this was most probably the result of an oversight).

We reinvest most of our profit back into the house, and unfortunately, our interior decor took a setback this year as we have had to focus on replacing the roof - hence the damage to the wallpaper in your room. The cosmetic repair comes next.

Please be assured that in terms of what the VALUE accommodation market is, we have always been rated very highly, both by guests and travel guides alike. Perhaps is this type of accommodation the wrong choice for you.

Regards,

Amadeus Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed on business on the last minute and picked it because of the location and the write up on Tripadvisor.

A warm welcome and friendly advice of where to eat locally was the good first impression.

The room was small but clean. En- suite was a touch tired and dated, shower was tiny and a cramped.

Breakfast next morning was very nice,a peaceful setting with classical music in the background.
Warm bread rolls, assorted cheese and meats, cereal, fruit and really nice coffee proved excellent value.

All in all, a pleasant stay and will probably return ........ I need a double bed though as six foot two of me does not fit a single bed.... Last room, so no choice.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afabvre, Owner at Amadeus Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there and thank you for your review.

I am sorry you got the last room so the bed was small for you. There is often not much choice last minute. We can definitely offer more choice with a bit of notice.

I am glad that you enjoyed our recommendation of the Lansdowne. We are lucky to have such a lovely pub close by.

Many thanks for staying with us and I hope we see you again in the future.

Regards,

Amadeus Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spent three nights at the Amadeus in the West End; very good location because it is just a quick walk away from the underground subway. Very quiet neighborhood and close to many excellent restaurants. We did not see any other rooms besides ours so we don't know if it is typical of the rest, but it was small. The bathroom was very small, which after traveling around Scotland, England and Wales for five weeks and staying in a few other guest houses, we found is the normal. The price is right, though, if you don't mind cramped quarters. We weren't in the room that much since we were sightseeing in Glasgow. The manager is very attentive to your needs and is very well informed about the area and can tell you whatever you need to know. We arrived at the guest house at 9:00 a.m. after a night flight from Toronto. The manager offered us breakfast and let us check in our room early knowing we were exhausted. The personal attention you receive at this guest house makes up for the little bit of inconvenience of a small room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afabvre, Owner at Amadeus Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am not sure what room you stayed in, I expect this was room 2. This is one of our smaller double rooms, and yes we do have bigger rooms in the house.

I am glad that you seem to have had an enjoyable experience overall.

Many thanks for staying with us.

Amadeus Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was good value for money guest house located in a quiet part of Glasgow.
Was firstly greeted by a very friendly host who went out of her way to make all requests was satisfied.
My single room was adequate for my one night stay with very clean bedding and a very good sleep I had.
I cant comment on breakfast as I had to leave very early the next day, but i am sure it would be good if my other experiences are to go by.
So if you looking for a nice reasonable priced hotel with a clean interior and friendly hosts, I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afabvre, Owner at Amadeus Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review of our guest house.

We are proud of the friendly service that we try to offer. In addition, we are endlessly trying to upgrade our facilities, so hopefully you will like us even more on future visits.

Regards,

Amadeus Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amadeus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Guest House

Address: 411 North Woodside Road, Glasgow G20 6NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amadeus Guest House is ideally located in the West End of Glasgow, virtually opposite the Kelvinbridge underground. With easy access to the town centre and to the West End, we offer great bed and "real" continental breakfast accommodation. Rooms are cleaned daily, and rates are more than reasonable for accommodation in this area. As we only have nine bedrooms we are often booked up, so do book early to avoid disappointment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amadeus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Amadeus Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadeus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.