We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad value for money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian House

Save Saved
You added The Georgian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian House
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very bad value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

From the exterior this hotel looks like it could be a cosy place to stay, this however is very far from the truth.

When we arrived at the hotel we were instantly asked to pay. We were then shown to our room which looked nothing like the pictures. The attendant told us she didn't know it was booked and had been using it that morning. She did apologies for this. The bathroom was dirty and had been used minutes before. This wasn't cleaned and we were expected to take the room as is. The carpet was stained and dirty and one of the cups had been used..

The headboard on the bed was resting against it and broken - which we didn't notice until our return that evening. The shower wasn't working and the doors on it wouldn't close. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned. There was no staff around to speak to about this - I knocked on the "staff quarters" door and waited around saying "hello" to thin air. The next morning at 10:50am there was banging on the door. The manager was telling us to get out as check out was at 10. We said we thought it was at 11 and are just getting ready. He then told us we had to get out by 11.
Following this, I left the room to give the key back to the staff. My partner came with me. There was no hotel staff anywhere. After a few minutes of waiting with me she then returned to use the bathroom. The manager appeared, I said hello and gave him the key and he continued to abrasively tell me how I was costing him money by checking out late as the laundry man came early. I told him that we thought checkout was 11 at which he called me a liar and asked if the room was empty. I was irked at the rudeness of this but responded politely saying that my partner was using the bathroom to which I was given the instruction to "get her out now" and leave. I told him to give her a minute, and then asked if he treated all of his guests this way.

After a pause I then told him about the problems with the room and rather than take these points aboard I was given verbal abuse and threatened. I went to get my partner and as I entered the room, there was banging on the door behind with him shouting for us to get out.
As we left we were met with another stream of abuse.

This was by far the worst traveling experience I have ever had & due to my job as a producer, I have traveled worldwide and experienced all kinds of hotels. Nothing comes close to this. The mannerisms of the staff especially the manager were appalling. The run down state of the hotel wouldn't be so bad if the staff was courteous and polite. You get the impression that you are an inconvenience rather than a customer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
This review is totally made up from start to finish.
The room was tidy and clean on arrival and the receptionist informed the guests of the check out time. I know this because i was around the corner writing something down for another guest.
This guest was at all times obnoxious and threatening towards female staff members. He attempted to be a bully but was in fact a coward who was aggressive only to females.These guests in fact damaged the room and actually broke the door window on departure(receipt available for viewing).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    12
    12
    19
See reviews for
13
41
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My partner and I booked this hotel for a weekend stay. We are familiar with the city of Glasgow and decided to give this hotel a shot. So so glad we did. excellent location. excellent front of house staff! honestly the most friendly, helpful gentleman at front of house we have ever met. the hotel was lovely and room was immaculate,very homely,comfortable place. we even got the nicest little leaving note from the staff. will definitly be staying again. its a little gem of a place!

Room Tip: All the rooms we passed were beautiful and the whole place was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Large bedroom, huge bathroom & comfortable bed with nice linen. Tastefully decorated room, nice window view. Good location, walk to town, across the road from Botanic Garden. Manager very friendly & helpful with places to eat, things to do. On the negative side, could do with having some basic repair jobs done. The plumbing (specifically the toilet) was very noisy on flushing and the love seat at the end of the bed couldn't be sat on because the two end feet were about to snap off. Overall, good value.

Room Tip: Room 4 Check if noisy plumbing has been fixed if you are offered this room. One flight of stairs up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for just one night, but were made to feel very welcome. The room was well furnished clean and very comfortable. Fantastic location, really good pub just over the road. Very close to the University.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which is self contained and very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A delightful hotel. Very welcoming, in terms of ambience as well as the hotel manager. Lovely view of the Botanic Garden glasshouses from our room. Superb location, ideally situated for access to university where I was doing some research, as well as the art galleries and many pubs and restaurants in the West End.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I come up to Glasgow regularly for shopping trips and have stayed at several hotels/bed and breakfasts. The Georgian House is ideally situated at the top of Byres Road, perfect for eating out and with good transport links into the city centre.

Gordon the manager was extremely helpful and friendly and amazingly cheerful considering he runs the place on his own. We had a self catering room on the second floor and although there are a lot of stairs the room was airy, very clean with the most comfortable bed we have ever come across in a hotel or B&B. The furniture in the room was slightly shabby and needs some upgrading, however, despite this we had a very comfortable stay.The bathroom was large with a bath and shower over and plenty of hot water. The room also had a fridge, microwave and cooker so we were able to cook one meal.
There is free parking at the rear of the hotel which is a major benefit as we always drive to Glasgow.
Our room was at the rear of the property which had a wonderful view of the Kibble Palace in Botantic Gardens.
Only downside was the slightly shabby furniture. With an injection of cash to upgrade this hotel would be absolutely perfect. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter. If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a fantastic find - a brilliant location, very pleasant rooms with real charm and character, great breakfast and very helpful proprietor. all at an unbelievably good price. Strongly recommended - I came for a business stay but enjoyed it so much I'll come back for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.