We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian House

Save Saved
You added The Georgian House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Georgian House
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Leicester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A delightful hotel. Very welcoming, in terms of ambience as well as the hotel manager. Lovely view of the Botanic Garden glasshouses from our room. Superb location, ideally situated for access to university where I was doing some research, as well as the art galleries and many pubs and restaurants in the West End.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    12
    12
    19
See reviews for
13
41
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I come up to Glasgow regularly for shopping trips and have stayed at several hotels/bed and breakfasts. The Georgian House is ideally situated at the top of Byres Road, perfect for eating out and with good transport links into the city centre.

Gordon the manager was extremely helpful and friendly and amazingly cheerful considering he runs the place on his own. We had a self catering room on the second floor and although there are a lot of stairs the room was airy, very clean with the most comfortable bed we have ever come across in a hotel or B&B. The furniture in the room was slightly shabby and needs some upgrading, however, despite this we had a very comfortable stay.The bathroom was large with a bath and shower over and plenty of hot water. The room also had a fridge, microwave and cooker so we were able to cook one meal.
There is free parking at the rear of the hotel which is a major benefit as we always drive to Glasgow.
Our room was at the rear of the property which had a wonderful view of the Kibble Palace in Botantic Gardens.
Only downside was the slightly shabby furniture. With an injection of cash to upgrade this hotel would be absolutely perfect. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter. If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room at gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a fantastic find - a brilliant location, very pleasant rooms with real charm and character, great breakfast and very helpful proprietor. all at an unbelievably good price. Strongly recommended - I came for a business stay but enjoyed it so much I'll come back for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great value for a reasonable price.
The host was nice and helpful.
The room was absolutely fabulous. I love the big bathroom!
Free wifi and parking.
Breakfast was ok.
Location was good, not far from the City centre. Bus stop was right in front of the hotel. Near a lot of pubs, bars and super markets. There was a lovely park next to the hotel and a very nice water fall behind it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We needed a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel in a good location for a work trip - and I am really glad that we came across The Georgian House. It was warm and clean, with free WifI and parking (makes the price of the stay even more reasonable!). The rooms we had were generous sizes and the 'continental' breakfast was good. I also couldn't fault the hard work and warm welcome that we received from the manager. If you're looking for 5* luxury accomodation, this probably isn't the place for you; but if you want a nice comfortable stay in a central location for a good price, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The stairs were a killer when you're hauling heavy luggage. Not easy to find due to poor directions in the B&B book. Parking outback was interesting. Only place that we weren't served a full Scottish breakfast, but what they did supply was good. Rooms were clean and charming, but the street noise kept you up. The highlight of the stay was the host, he was entertaining and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The manager was incredibly rude and condescending when arrived and during two unfortunate interactions during my stay. When I attempted to check out, he simply ignored me. I waited a while and finally the housekeeper helped me check out. The breakfast was narrowly passable. The mattress desperately needed to be replaced as I could feel and see the coils sticking out. Overall, just avoid the Georgian House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgianhouse1000, Manager at The Georgian House, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I am seriously unsure if this person was actually a guest. We do not have a check out procedure as such this is all covered on arrival. Also there is no housekeeper and we do not have coils in the bed. Yes and the rude part is also part of their imagination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Georgian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House

Address: 29 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Rd, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Georgian House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Georgian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian House Hotel Glasgow
The Georgian House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.