We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alamo Guest House to your Saves list
Alamo Guest House
46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was one of our favorite B&Bs on our trip, and the one we splurged on for our honeymoon. The couple was very very friendly upon arrival and had no problems with our later check in, which was extremely refreshing after our mishaps at the Glasgow airport. Our room was fantastic and it was so nice to come back to after a long day exploring Edinburgh. The breakfast was buffet style, but the staff was right there to provide anything you needed. Overall a great B&B that we would stay at again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    91
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
251
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A very good place to stay in Glasgow. We loved it We had a great room lots of nice touches, a very good breakfast great choice, the location is also very good. Our hosts were wonderful we definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Steve, Emma and their two wonderful sons and staff make the Alamo special and memorable. My visit coincided with Andy Murray's victory at Wimbledon, a fete loyal Scot Steve marked with enthusiasm--the same enthusiasm he and Emma displayed, more quietly but no less sincerely, in making for comfortable breakfast-time chats and quiet evenings in their hotel home. The story of how the guest house got its name is an intriguing one. Full marks to the Alamo. It is a wonderful place.

WS, Brooklyn

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Steve and Emma did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. They are wonderful hosts, and Steve's restaurant and travel advice is to be heeded! Many thanks -- we'll be back. I don't want to stay anywhere else when I visit Glasgow.

Room Tip: If you'd like an ensuite room and exclusive access to the lovely breakfast room after 9pm, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Alamo Guest House has a lot of character and is a beautiful place to stay. The hosts are very hospitable and carrying. We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend the Alamo Guest House to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The 4 of us had a wonderful stay here for 3 nights. This is no ordinary place: it's as good as the photos show. Something a bit special, with this decor. One pair of us took a non-ensuite & were just fine with that: a choice of bathrooms awaited us each time. We were superbly looked after in all respects. We liked the open outlook at the front, off the main road, & the fruit salads at breakfast too. Thank you, Alamo!

Room Tip: It's worth considering the choice of rooms because they do vary. Alamo reception is very happy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our stay at Alamo Guest House was just perfect. Nice and confortable rooms, welcoming staff and excellent location. We really enjoyed and will surely come back for our next trip to Glasgow. Many thanks !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Guest House

Address: 46 Gray Street | Kelvingrove Park, Glasgow G3 7SE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alamo is a friendly family run Guest House overlooking Glasgow’s Kelvingrove Park with views of Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum, as well as Glasgow University, in the near distance. This elegant 1870 Victorian building is within easy walking distance (3 - 20 minutes) of the main 3 areas of Glasgow; The City Centre (Glasgow School of Art, Modern Art Gallery, theatres, etc), The West End (Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Glasgow University, Kelvin Hall, etc), Riverside (S.E.C.C. etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Alamo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.