We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Accord

Bon Accord
153 North St., Glasgow, Scotland (Anderston)
44 141 248 4427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 178 Nightlife in Glasgow
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly staff who know their stuff about whisky and real ale. superb value for money. Worth popping in for a cheeky tipple

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A superb place to tipple and eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Bon Accord Pub was recommended by 'local' friend... that was 10 years ago when I first arrived in Glasgow to complete my post grad degree . . . and from that time to today, I have never been disappointed.

Most of the previous reviews speak of the quality of the ales and service this family owned pub offers... which is outstanding value ... I'd like to comment about the food.. there is a variety of items and the daily specials are posted on the chalk boards throughout the pub. I have regularly asked for a salad instead of chips which is done without any hesitation. The food is well priced starting at £ 4.99 !!!!

They have a weekly pub quiz.. believe it is onThursday's... a group of us 'academics' participated (2 Phds, 8 MBA's) and ... well, we came in last place and won a bag of 'Nobby's Peanuts'.


On another note, this must be one of the rare pubs that has a small library (book sales proceeds donated to charity) and a rather large fisth acquarium...yes, see if you can find both!


Over the years I have gotten to know EACH of the family members who proudly serve their customers... they are outstanding, and I suggest you too get to know the charm and smiles they offer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“glasgow ale crawl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I drank 2 different beers from Independent Scottish breweries in The Bon Accord, both were superb. 10 different ales were on sale on that night, and bar staff were happy to reccommend an ale to suit your taste. Also of note is that live bands play at the weekend, and that when I visited, the toilets were clean on a busy night, well done!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No other pub in Glasgow compares!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Must be THE best pub in Glasgow for Real Ale, Malt Whisky, or good, honest homemade food at a bargain. Multi award winning pub for it's cask ale for years now, but more recently for it's selection and dedication for Malt Whisky ( Bowmore Malt Whisky Pub of the Year 2012!). Add to that, one of the cheapest menus in town without taking away the quality of the food on offer. Fresh fish and meat brought in daily, (Traditional Fish and Chips £6.95, 8oz Sirloin or Ribeye £8.95!) or an amazing 2 course for £4.95! Which includes there infamous Steak Pie. A must if you like your beer, Malt or just a wee bite to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great real ale pub with huge whiskey selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice wee pub in downtown Glasgow. It has a fine selection of real ales and a great variety of superb single malts. It has old pub feeling, with a good many friendly old regulars. Food is cheap and good for a quick pub meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Accord also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bon Accord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Accord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.