We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and fine !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
livingston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfy and fine !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as it was close to Oran mor where I was going to for a gig, the hotel is currently going through some decorating, it smelled quite strongly of new paint but didnt mind as I love the smell of paint lol.Room was spacious and warm had what we needed for one night albeit a wee bit dusty.Breakfast was ok but could do with better sausages. Would definitely stay there again though , stayed in room 7 that faces the road so you get the noise from the traffic but it was fine

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    30
    20
    22
See reviews for
19
50
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here with my elderly parents whilst visiting our daughter in Glasgow. Having read previous reviews before we went, I wasn't expecting a great deal. What a lovely surprise! The hotel is freshly decorated and spotlessly clean. The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious. There are even a limited number of parking spaces at the rear of the hotel. The location is at the heart of the West End. I agree with the previous review - Cathy is a credit to the hotel, but so are all other staff. They were very accommodating when we asked if our daughter could join us for breakfast on our last day. All in all, a very good choice of hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here on the 22nd of March for wedding acoss the road at the hilton , room was a lot cheaper then staying at the hilton but the service was much better rooms were good standard and staff very accommodating we checked in early and out late , only bad points shower was adaquade but could of been better , and a lot of ppl seemed to forget there key to the front door and were ringing the service bell to get in but I think we stayed in the only room in the hotel that would of heard it . Overall great value for money and will stay again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello paul, thank you for the good review. the next time you stay at the hotel, give us a call and let us know you would like a Quieter room and we will try our best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

It was only a one night gig while we attended a wedding in the Hilton across the road.
Staff great , friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. Breaky was just like being at home. Full scottish served with a smile. Would definitely stay here again. Location V.G.
Jamie & Katie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi, Thank you for the good review i will let the staff know that you thought they were very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Clifton, I was so pleased with everything the first time I went back again and had my parents with me. We were on the 2nd floor in rooms 5 and 7. My dad can be very picky and at 81 why not, but he really enjoyed the 2 night stay as did my mum. The rooms were a good size and has everything you need. The breakfast was fab, location spot on. I would definitely recommend the Clifton. Cathy is amazing nothing was any trouble for her a real asset to the hotel. I hope her boss appreciates her hard work. Ate across the road at Oran mor very good.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clifton2012, receptionist at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the clifton hotel. If you are needing a room that is on the lower floors don't hesitate to contact us and let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Read reviews and have to admit I was a bit nervous to stay... arrived and was pleasantly surprised that my nervousness was not warranted. Yes, the hotel is old and needs some updating but the room and bathroom were huge and completely adequate. The absolute best thing about this hotel was the staff!!!! My daughter and I felt like family from the moment we walked in the door! Everything about the staff was OUTSTANDING!
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Bute
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Having booked this as a nearby stopover for a night at the Oran Mor - it was recommended by a friend as comfy & clean - which technically was true but unfortunately not what we normally book but hey it was only for one night. We were on the 2nd floor which if you're carrying a bag is a balancing act on the curving steep stairs. The corridor to our room was being painted a plus for the upkeep of the hotel but not to the fact that the smell had gotten into the room & could be smelt for the whole stay. Bedroom was spacious & clean as was the bathroom. Clean towels were available but there wasn't a hairdryer or iron & ironing board. Bed was firm & there was enough pillows. For breakfast there was a choice of either hot or cold & tea or coffee& again the dining room was clean. The staff were pleasant & when asked to order us a cab it arrived promptly. That all said there was nothing that would make me recommend it in the future to friends.

Room Tip: Not on the 2nd floor & ask for a hairdryer & iron & ironing board to be in room before a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.