We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a doss house” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
Clifton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is a doss house”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

What can I say. This place is dire. The website gives the impression that it is almost a boutique hotel that couldn't be further from the truth.
It is a residential hotel. No disrespect, but I do not expect dossers when I stay at a hotel. My room, no. 5, was furnished with some of the cheapest flat pack furniture money can buy. The carpet was threadbare in places, there were dirty marks on the bathroom door, black stuff on the shower tray, and some of the worst finishing and decoration I've seen for some time.
Basically, it is nothing like its described to be on the website. I take issue with that, because hats what I based my decision to stay there on.
I could go on, but what's the point. Trading Standards may be next.
Maybe there is a very good reason why you pay for your stay upfront!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    27
    19
    19
See reviews for
15
41
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having spent 2 nights at this hotel, & read previous reviews I feel it has been unfairly criticised. This is a beautiful Victorian building in the middle of Glasgow's affluent West End. The staff have been polite & welcoming. Even when I had a minor complaint it was dealt with swiftly. My room - 17 is on the basement of the building overlooking the car park. The room is lovely & large with tea & coffee making facilities, & flatscreen freeview TV. The spacious bathroom has a bath & shower. Bedlinen was clean & crisp with an ample supply of towels & soap. Breakfast was a choice of fresh juice & fruit, cereals & a full Scottish cooked breakfast including toast, tea, coffee etc. All the fantastic features the west end has to offer are on the doorstep including Botanic gardens & highly acclaimed Oran Mor. Clifton is not advertised as a modern boutique hotel or similar. It is a comfortable, friendly small hotel with original features of the great Scottish architectural characters of earlier times. So relax &enjoy your visit to this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Place was not bad
Car parking is a issue but then again city centre
You pay what you get for
Rooms weren't clean but the service was fine
Breakfast was good on the bright side
Was reasonable priced
From our room we had a great view . My complaint of this room would be the noisy fan system. We switched this off which was fine except in our room there was also the constant noise of running water which did not abate until the wee hours of the morning when it started again a few hours later. I guess we must have been near the hotel's water system!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was surprised to find that the hotel also provided social housing. The people at the table nest to ours at breakfast were discussing their mental health regime which was a bit disconcerting.
If this hotel is running as a hostel for the homeless they need to inform visitors to their web site. The breakfasts were geared more to the poor DSS client than the paying guest and were cheap and tasted awful.
It's a pity that this nice house in a great location isn't' run better.


S

Room Tip: If you need to stay here choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while I was on a buisness trip in February. The staff are friendly and easy to talk to.The rooms are modern and clean.Car parking is an issue although the hotel do have there own car park which is quiet small and there is not much they can do if you don't get a space.Overall it is a nice cosy hotel.You get what you pay for.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I can't seem to fault much about this b+b. My room was spacious, clean and well appointed. If I was picky then, the water pressure in the shower was a little week and the room was a little noisy, as we were facing onto the street. Other than that homely and you get what it says in the tin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The location is the good news. Finding the parking is difficult with no signage to the rear or lighting. The reception desk is in the only lounge which is also used for the DSS to wait in the morning with their bags before they leave. The room was spacious and clean with nice ensuite, however, at 6am the room above had a shower and water poured through the ceiling.... this was reported to the staff in the dining room who were not surprised I think. The breakfast was average to poor and the atmosphere was like sitting in someone's front lounge, staff children running around and smoke fumes from the boarders standing on door step having a fag in theirs pj's, not so classy. The hotel spoiled our trip and we will never be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.