We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, cheap stay in Glasgow...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clifton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Clifton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A clean, cheap stay in Glasgow...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

...but that is it. Location was great for my stay as I need to be near Oran Mor for a wedding, the room was clean but dark and under the stairs to the main entrance in the basement so people smoking outside meant the room smelt of it. Not much room in the bedroom and you had to squeeze past the bed and the table to get to the window and to make a cup of tea. Not many staff around and can't say I felt all that safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    24
    17
    15
See reviews for
13
34
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

As I write I'm 2 nights into a 3 night stay while in between houses and I have to say that so far, so good. Great location at the top of Byres Rd next to the Botanical Gardens and perfectly placed for the delights of the West End. Room was perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean, with what looks like a brand new bathroom (as some redecoration was taking place I suspect some upgrading is going on?). My room is at the rear of the hotel and perfectly quiet at night.
I find the lady at reception to be cheerful and helpful,
Can't say I've seeen many of my fellow guests and nor have I experienced breakfast as I go to work at 6.30am but the aforesaid lady did offer to sort out some cereal for me if required.
Parking (free) available for around 5 cars at the rear of the hotel.
All in all very good value for money for travellers on a budget or people visiting sons/daughters at university in the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear (I had room 21) are probaly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ended up here after our not pleasant arrival at the Kelvingrove Hotel. This B and B had a nice room, and it was clean and very spacious for the room. The food was good, cooked Scottish breakfast. We liked the proximity to the Botanic garden - across the street. ALso there were many places to eat within a few blocks. The on and off Bus stop was also at the Botanic garden so very handy location. It does face a busy street and our room faced the front. However even with the windows open we had no trouble sleeping. There is a Night club across the street - but was only loud in early part of evening. A very nice, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for one night on a weekend in July 2012 with two friends. We had a triple room (one double and two singles) for just £81, including a cooked breakfast.

Despite its proximity to a main road, we found the noise not to be an issue, even though our room faced that road. Rooms facing the back, away from the road would be much quieter.

The room itself appeared to have been recently refurbished. All beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and the bathroom was very modern and clean.

All the staff we encountered were friendly.

The breakfast served in the morning was tasty, and there was an option for veggies, plus continental and/or cooked breakfast.

The hotel is right next to the Botanical gardens, at the end of Byres road so a whole host of walks, shops and restaurants are right on your doorstep.

There is a small car park right at the back of the hotel for off-road parking, but there are only a handful of spaces.

All in all a great place to stop over if you need something basic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My mum stayed in this hotel during my graduation. Overall, she was pretty happy with the place, it was clean and warm (the heating was on! very appreciated. Even though it's summer the weather was crap, even by Scottish standards ;).

The hotel is on a very noisy street, so would not recommend it to those with sleeping issues, however it;s my personal opinion as my mum slept very well and didn't complain at all. she also enjoyed her Scottish breakfast included in the price.

the staff was an OK, two receptionists with strong Glaswegian accents, speaking really fast and rarely smiling :D quite a challenge for people coming to Glasgow for the first time :D

Overall, it was not a bad stay for the price of £39 a night with breakfast and all day heating ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just spent the night in the Clifton hotel.. Booked last minute on Lateroom for £49 for double B&B. Wasnt sure what to expect but was delighted with the location... right between Oran Mor and the Botanic gardens. Was ideal . The room was very nice , spacious and comfortable. Im not usually a fan of smaller hotels. But felt very relaxed. The lady on reception was really helpful and down to earth, when we got our keys she said come and go as you please. Breakfast was very nice and staff again were helpful.. We managed to park behind the hotel, the car park is small , the car park was monitored in the hotel on CCTV. For a cheap night away in a prime location i have no complaints and would certainly use this hotel again..

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms were like. we booked a double but there was also a single bed there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

PROS

Cheap at £49 for a double room with breakfast.
Situated across from Oran Mor.
Large room.
Parking.
Nice warm room.
Comfortable bed.

CONS
Early breakfast.
Carpet needed hoovering.
Shower rail held up by hook.
Hairs in the bath.

Not much to complain about given the cheap £49 room and would definitely stay again due to its location close to Byer's Road.
I was quite shocked at breakfast when a mother and daughter arrived in the breakfast room just after 9am to be abruptly told that they were too late for a cooked breakfast and could only have toast and cereal. At 9:25am a gentleman came into the room, sat down and was asked how he was, if he would like a full Scottish breakfast and did he want his eggs soft or hard?! The look on the mother and daughter's face was priceless and had I been them, would definitely have complained. I can only assume that this gentleman was perhaps the owner as nothing seemed too much trouble for him, but the staff did not handle the situation well and blatantly ignored the mother and daughter. You can't have different rules for different guests and they weren't even discreet about it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet area of Glasgow's West End, Clifton Hotel is a Victorian town house with free Wi-Fi. Great Western Road is nearby.Each room at Clifton Hotel features Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities.There is an elegant TV lounge at the Clifton, as well as antique furniture and a traditional spiral staircase.The Scottish Exhibition Centre and the Royal Concert Hall are within easy reach. There are good public transport links to the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.