We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid staying here if you want to sleep, shower, eat and rest” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Loft Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Loft Apartments to your Saves list
Glasgow Loft Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid staying here if you want to sleep, shower, eat and rest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and mother for a girl's weekend in Glasgow. We were given two double beds and not a double and twin. Many of the lights were out throughout the whole flat and with no natural light in the bathrooms, had to shower practically in the dark. The noise outside was loud until 3.30am then someone started cleaning the room upstairs at 6.30am with a scraping bucket and mop and Tesco over the road started loading and unloading lorries from about 6.30 till we left. The TV in the living room did not work at all and nor did the grill to make toast in the morning. We did bring all of this up with reception (who was a really nice guy) but there was nothing he could do. Spend your money on a proper hotel if you intend to stay there to sleep, shower, eat and rest! My partner went camping that weekend and got more rest than we did!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    66
    39
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
70
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portlethen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a one night stay for a conncert. It was a lovely place to stay, big airy rooms that were great value for money. It was just what we needed, a bed for night - no airs & graces!
Although it is lovely, it is starting to show signs of wear & tear. A few holes here & there, cracks & chips. It just needs some TLC & it will be grand!
It was VERY difficult to find, badly sign posted!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a nights stay at the Glasgow Loft Apartments. We were there to watch Robbie and hotels were pricey so this was a bit of a flyer. I have never stated in a city apartment as an alternative to a hotel but this has opened my eyes. The space was amazing we had a two bedrooms both with ensuite and it was a lovely relaxed way to stay. Would recommend and would personally use again! Great find. The staff were very helpful too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was the final stop in a 3-week vacation and it was a bit of a letdown.

The loft was spacious, the view was good but the furnishings were obviously old and tired-looking. There were marks on the floor. I killed a silverfish in the bathroom and there was barely enough cups and cutlery for the 4 of us. Also, the blinds on the windows were not light-blocking so none of us slept well. Additionally, several of the light fixtures needed new bulbs - and not just one. Finally, I resent having to pay for Wi-Fi when it was free at every other accommodation in England and Scotland that we stayed at - even the small, 2-room places.

Having said all that, the location was hard-to-beat. It was close to pubs and restaurants, shopping and transportation. As well, reception was very helpful, we used them several times. And we would probably consider staying here again - mostly because of the location and the fact that we didn't have a car.

Room Tip: Upper floors tend to have less internal and external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have stayed here many times the location is still excellent and the views great but was disappointed by the small changes and the lack of care.The flat was looking tatty with broken shower fittings, wires hanging out of the ceiling where the smoke alarm should have been, The walls were badly marked. As always the crockery is limited but 4 mismatched wine glasses was poor.To charge £5 a day for wifi and £10 an hour for late check out is just mean - previously there was no charge for these items.
The staff were helpful replacing a broken cafetiere but it should have been replaced before we arrived
I have recommended the apartments highly to friends - will not be doing this again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in the loft apartments in Glasgow many times. the location is great and they are good value. I last stayed a few months ago and since then they have changed a few things which made a difference to my experience:

wifi was no longer free. it is only £5 per night but this use to be a free addition
there is no longer any tea and coffee - there use to be a welcome pack with tea, coffee, hot choc and biscuits.
there is no information pack - there use to be a pack which gave useful numbers, such as local taxis and nearby shops and attractions.

Finally, there was t-towel and as a self catering facility doesnt make sense.

After years of using these apartments I will definitely reconsider for future stays.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Smashing apartments, ideal location however what good is jacuzzi bath without a plug - `should have telephoned down and i would have brought one up for you` the chap on the reception desk said - we should have but were running late and decided not to bother - but this is a warning for all future travellers - ` check bath has plug before stripping off and searching around bath in your birthday suit!`. visit was also marred by the additional charge of £10 if one stays an hour over your allocated departure time ! - we were informed of this however it still sticks in ones throat. Apartments starting to show signs of wear and tear and could benefit from a little `tlc`.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - we were stuck facing the tenements opposite which meant that blinds had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Loft Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Loft Apartments

Address: 134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glasgow Loft Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glasgow Loft Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Loft Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Loft Apartments Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Loft Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.