We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Loft Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glasgow Loft Apartments to your Saves list
Glasgow Loft Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed in the Glasgow lofts on different occasions over the last 6 years. In this time the apartments have become increasingly unkept and tatty. Attention to cleaning would benefit too. They have stopped supplying the Molton Brown products they boast about on their web site, and you no longer even have tea and coffee!?!? also, a word of warning, the check out time had been moved without notification to us. Having stayed in several different apartments, I can honestly say that the apartment you are allocated is a bit of a lottery, some are better than others. In short, if you are looking for a place to stay, it is ok for 1 or 2 nights, but if you are looking for the high end style they sell, you are not going to get it here. One good thing, the view is as always, unchanging!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    74
    42
    24
    16
See reviews for
52
75
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Glasgow Lofts in January 2013 as we have done on three other occasions. The location is excellent and the rooms and amenities are good. I like the minimalist decor. Where there are problems staff make every effort to sort them out. The first hurdle was that, as we arrived in our car, we were told there was no undercover parking and we would have to park up the street. I later found this meant in a secure car park. However as we had parked undercover on the three previous occasions I was a bit put out. I know there are space problems as the car lift giving access to 50 spaces in the basement is out of commission but that was the case on our previous visit. Anyhow a space was found for us in the undercover car park. The second hurdle I had made a telephone booking as I wanted to ensure that the one bedroomed apartment was one with a large bed. We are both tall and I made the request. Needless to say when we arrived we were booked into a lovely room but with a standard bed. After making a complaint we were moved to a bigger apartment with a large bed. I cannot fault the Sunday staff who went out of their way to accommodate us but it was a bit irritating as was having to ask for light bulbs to be replaced and sort the television out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here in May 2012 with 3 other girls for one night. The apartment was massive, and the views we had were amazing. The guy on night shift was extremely helpful at getting us taxis! The apartment was very modern and had everything you needed like a cooker, microwave, etc. Don't think I would stay anywhere else in Glasgow again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

stayed here with 3 other friends, we all from Dundee. stayed overnight on Sat 26 Jan as we went to see Strictly at SECC. great location, bit noisy at night but what do you expect in centre of Glasgow! lovely apartment, very modern & was clean which is the main thing. would stay here again for the great location.we

Room Tip: we were on 6th floor but would like a better view if we can next time, perhaps higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night with my partner as base for a night out in Glasgow.
Was pleased with the view as we were on the 13th floor.
Apartment was lovely and modern with all amenities you would need!
The decor in the apartment and corridors could be doing with a bit of paint and the blinds in the bedroom had some dampness marks but I wold not let this put you off!
Close to train station and centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January 2013. 2 bedroom apartment very spacious and decorated in modern style. I'm sure it wasn't busy but we were on the 5th floor and very disappointed with view, was expecting a great view of the city of Glasgow but instead got views of a tenement backyard and into other rather grotty looking apartments . The waterworks, boiler etc. were very noisy and the builders rubbish chute outside the window was pretty noisy too even first thing on a Sunday morning!

Also pretty disappointed that there was no hospitality tray, for all it would take to provide some T-bags, coffee sachets and UHT milk. 10am check-out on a Sunday pretty early and a lso, £5 for Wi-fi bit OTT if they are trying to attract young trendy clientele?

Location couldn't be better, just off Sauchiehall Street and within walking distance of most places in Glasgow.

Overall, would recommend it if there are a few of you looking for a good value for money place to stay for a couple of nights in a city centre location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rooms were nice and bright due to the large windows Although there was an incredibly loud and sustained noise coming from the water tank located within one of the bedrooms. This was particularly noticeable at night and resulted in a disturbed sleep

Also check in and check out times had been changed without any notification being sent to us.

Due to its location in Central Glasgow it can be very noisy at times. Both traffic noise and groups of individuals.

However, the central location also means that it is easy to access local shopping and entertainment venues.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Loft Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Loft Apartments

Address: 134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#41 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasgow Loft Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Glasgow Loft Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Loft Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Loft Apartments Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Loft Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.