We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Loft Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Glasgow Loft Apartments to your Saves list
Glasgow Loft Apartments
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Affordable and well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a gig we were going to in Glasgow on a Friday night at the beginning of November. These apartments are in a good location with only a 5min walk for a Sainsburys local on Sauchiehall Street and 5min taxi ride from Glasgow Queen Street station.

The hotel was quiet (for a Friday night) and we didn't get much ambient noise from the surrounding streets beyond what you would expect in a city center location.

The member of staff that checked us in was warming and made the process quick and simple. (Something I like). We were made well aware that no guests were permitted in the apartment at any time for reasons I can understand, however, those of us who don't wish to host all night parties will hundreds of people suffer at the hands of those who do sadly. (We had a few friends who stay in Glasgow and it would have been nice to at least invite them up before we headed out).

Checkout was 10am which we felt was a bit early. I believe you were about to extend you checkout by an hour for an agreed sum.

The apartment was well equipt with the electrical goods you'd expect. A dishwasher, fridge and washing machine, double oven, toaster and kettle in the kitchen area. Whilst there was sufficient cutlery for us, there did seem to be a bare minimum of such things as cups, glasses and plates etc. I don't think there was any more than 4 of each. This wasn't a problem with there only being 2 of us however I thing this could be inconvenient for larger groups. The apartment also came with small safe in the master bedroom with ironing board and hair dryer. There was sufficient linen for us for the one night.

The Living area was furnished with TV (with standard Freeview) and DVD player. We also brought our own MP3 player.

The apartment had central heating throughout and worked well. Was really warm when we checked in but that was soon sorted. (Thats another pet hate of mine. Poor heating/ air con units) The full length windows were a particular like. Especially as it allowed you to take in the full ambiance of a city centre environment. The full length blinds were equally as useful when privacy was required. I think to fully appreciate this and as the promotional photos on the website show, you really need to be on a high floor to get the best views.

Next to the living-room area were one of the bedrooms that was hidden by tall smoked glass doors. This appeared to be the secondary bedroom. Whist the bedroom was of average size, there was no bathroom/shower en-suite which made a trip back out into the living area and along the hall to reach the shower/bathroom. What appeared to be the master bedroom (which was the only bedroom with en-suite and TV) was equally sized.

I have to say that I think this was a good, clean and tidy apartment which I will definitely considering using again in the future and would recommend if you are looking for somewhere that is affordable and close to town when you are looking to fulfil your basic needs of an apartment whist away.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms facing the south for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    36
    22
    15
See reviews for
46
66
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this apartment/hotel on two previous locations. We were pleasantly surprised on first stay to find a large 2 bedroom apartment with a huge kitchen, hardwood floors, gorgeous view of Glasgow and two lovely bathrooms, the main bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub. Needless to say, we jumped at the chance to book it again two years later and were equally pleased. The building had its faults, including lack of a real front desk presence (only a security person at front desk) and room doors that slammed incredibly loud if you forgot to shut them quietly behind you. Still, we were thrilled.

We are currently on day 2 of a 4 night stay and couldn't be more disappointed. We couldn't book through our normal site so booked through the company's own site. We decided that we didn't need a 2 bedroom apartment for one couple so booked a double bedroom apartment. They were only able to give us one key, despite the fact that there are two of us. Our room is obviously smaller but our lovely Glasgow view has been replaced by the back of a budget hotel and a roof top car park. The room doors still slam noisily. The biggest shock came from the fact that they have located the hot water tank for the one bedroom apartments inside the bedroom closets and anytime someone runs the hot water anywhere in the apartment, the pump fires up with a sound similar to someone running an emergency power generator. Guess how well that goes over if someone has to use the washroom during the night or if only one person has to get up early in the morning and get ready to go to their conference? I remember the two bedroom units also had their own hot water tanks but they were located well away from the bedrooms and we were never bothered by them there. Having the tank located two or three feet away from the bed is an entirely different matter! When I complained to the manager, she looked at me as though I was the first person who had ever mentioned this. I've read other critiques and know I'm not. "I'll get someone up to have a look at it." That was 10:15 this morning...it's now 4:21 PM and nobody has come up to check on it so it's obviously not a priority for them. I did mention it to the young woman who cleaned the apartment and she said that all the tanks sounded like that. "The noise stops when you stop running the hot water." Gee, thanks.

In summary, if you get a large, two bedroom apartment with a city view, you will probably be very happy and give the place 4 or 5 stars. The Lofts are certainly centrally located. If, however,you get a one bedroom apartment, you will probably be extremely dissatisfied and give it 1 star. Will we be back next time we're in Glasgow? Hard to say but I would say it's highly unlikely. We'll certainly be very specific about which unit we stay in if we do.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for two nights during our recent trip to the UK, we booked Lofts as we had stayed there for one night on our last trip two years previously and were impressed with the space and facilities available in the apartment. Not so this time … we were given a very cramped apartment with the absolute bare minimum of items like crockery, cutlery and glasses, perhaps not a huge issue if you plan to eat out all the time, but as we had made a conscious decision to eat brekkie and one dinner in, it was irritating.

It’s in a good central location in Glasgow and there was no issue with cleanliness in the apartment. We did find the member of staff who checked us in somewhat surly and whilst overall it was not excessively priced, it’s unlikely that we’ll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with friends overnight we had two flats both with two bedrooms. Large floor to ceiling windows very spacious although some of our flooring had water damage and there were a few other examples of damage to walls from doors. Still nice place to stay just behind one of main shopping streets not far from theatre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place was alright. The photos made it look really nice. The place itself was fine and in a great location. The staff were friendly enough. Check out is very early at 10am but they will store your bags for you. Our room had a big hole in the wall and everything just seemed to of been done cheaply and in a rush in the place. Although the rooms were very clean and they all were done up nicely. Would stay here again if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Whenever we go down to Glasgow this is where we book.
Can't speak highly enough of the Glasgow Loft Apartments and can't wait to go back again.
Stunning views over the city skyline, beautiful rooms, pure luxury!
I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of coming to Glasgow ahead of any hotel everytime.
Go on, treat yourself. We do and it's well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A friend and i stayed here for one night and we loved it. I had seen pictures from the website and was even more impressed upon arrival. Close to sauchiehall street which was where we were headed and 5 mins walk from bus station. Clean and very spacious. Only downside was having to check out at 10am. Will definately book here again.

Room Tip: We were floor 4 and think if were higher up would have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasgow Loft Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Loft Apartments

Address: 134 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6ST, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glasgow Loft Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glasgow Loft Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Loft Apartments Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Loft Apartments Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Loft Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.