We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to good bars/restaurants” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belgrave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Belgrave Hotel to your Saves list
Belgrave Hotel
2 Belgrave Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8JD, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“close to good bars/restaurants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

Booked this as an overnight-er to lay our heads (3 English girlies in triple room) after going to the exhibition centre for the good food show. Taxi driver told us we were ideally placed; the west end of Glasgow. Turned out he was right. Great location for pubs and restaurants, all walking distance. (Mr Taxi recommended the Stravaigin; just round the corner. it was fabulous). The room was OK but kind of botched decoration although adequate. We were cold early evening while getting ready to go out. No heating on in room 1st weekend Nov; cdnt find anyone in reception. Saying that, you get what you pay for and for £80 between us, mustnt grumble. Beds v comfy and good crisp linen and towels.Breakfast very acceptable, tho with only four tables I dont know how they go on if everyone turns up for breakfast at the same time. Dont expect luxury, but expect a smile.

  • Liked — Locality
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
20
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We arrived after a long drive from Inverness. I THOUGHT I had booked this hotel, but upon arriving was told "no." Having said that, they had one room left and were very eager to be of help. We walked the three flights to our room (top floor) and although the room was very small, it was clean, with a bathroom and a computer with free internet! The reception desk was VERY helpful in giving us directions and suggestions. This is a very old hotel which is under renovation. Although it has a way to go, I think they are offering a very nice stay in the mean time. The house is very old and it is obvious that it has seen many travelers come and go. I find this charming. My only negative remark is that sleeping was difficult due to the hotel being on a busy street. Lots of noise outside the window. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

I simply chose this hotel because I needed a reasonable priced room in the vicinity of the SECC where I participated at the congress. The hotel surely isn't superior class and there are lots of small things that were obviously repaired and/or renovated in a hurry. That said, the room was small but convenient and contained everything I needed from a good shower to a comfortable bed. To my suprise, there was even a PC with free internet access in each room. The reception at the hotel was very friendly and the breakfast in the morning simply perfect (full scottish breakfast!) and they even had a real coffee-machine.
Moreover, the hotel is in the lively west-end with good pubs, shops and easy access to public transport (bus, subway). I would chose this hotel anytime again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

If you offstet the price of these rooms to what you actually get they are perfect and worth every penny paid. The welcome and departure at reception was second to none. The breakfast room was clean and well presented, breakfast was cooked to order and if you prefer continental breakfast everything you would expect to find was available. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Shower room was small and nothing special but in the past I've paid much more and ended up with much less so I can't hold it against them. The location is excellent for the West End and it's a simple underground ride to the City Centre.

  • Liked — Clean and tidy, Friendly staff, West End location.
  • Disliked — Small shower room
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

From looking at the pictures of this hotel online we were quite excited really. It looked super modern, with clean lines. Honestly, the renovation was so bad that it bordered on the absurd... laughable really. Shoddy workmanship is what it comes down to. There were holes in the wall, carpets didn't actually meet the wall, the lights in the shower stall probably went against every safety violation, there was a smell that they tried to mask with a hallway air freshener that gave me a headache. The list is to long to continue.

Having said all that. The breakfast was super super yummy, they even had real cappuccino in the morning. The service was excellent all around and it was clean. The bed was the comfiest that I found in Scotland and the bedding was clean and crisp. So, if you keep the lights off and don't notice the insane workmanship it will be just fine!

  • Liked — The breakfast, free internet access and the beds.
  • Disliked — The fact that the place seemed to be unravelling because of a dodgy rennovation.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

I stayed here with a group of friends and have to say that the hotel is in a great location and very reasonably priced but a few little things that could have made it more enjoyable.

The first being the shower! It didn't have any hot water...or at least me and my other 5 friends all tried to get it going and failed. The lady who ran it came up and got it going but it was a bit of a piddly dribble and the slightest touch on the control tap and it went cold.

Then the decor. The rooms had supposedly just been refurbished but seemed half-finished. The sink in the room hadn't had the pipes underneath boxed in. The bathroom door needed another coat of paint as it was mucky and half-done. The shower (again) had these fake lino style tiles that weren't stuck down properly.

All in all it seemed to be trying so hard to be a boutique hotel but failing on the details. That said, the beds were comfy (although the duvet was stained and the quilt cover didn't reach the end of the quilt). The LCD TV was cool and the DVD selection was good. Breakfast was ok. And I think I probably would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Great place to stay in Glasgow... central, staff extremely helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel

Address: 2 Belgrave Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in the heart of Glasgow's West End. All rooms are en-suite with free Wi-Fi and a computer in each room for you to research the best places to visit in Glasgow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgrave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.