We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bar-diner in Bishopbriggs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avenue

The Avenue
177 Kirkintilloch Road, Glasgow G642LS, Scotland
+44 141 772 2755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Bistro, Family Fare, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A comfortable Bar/Restaurant also with free function hire. Family friendly, live music, daily food specials, booking recommended
Bishopbriggs, Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The best bar-diner in Bishopbriggs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned home after enjoying another excellent bar meal in this lovely Bishopbriggs diner. The location is ideal, situated in the centre of Bishopbriggs town, less than a minute’s walk from the train station, and easily accessed by bus from the city centre and from Springburn and Kirkintilloch. The menu is wide-ranging and tempting, and offers different specials every day. The food quality is excellent, the atmosphere is warm and quietly bustling in a modern way, and the friendly young management team are always on hand to ensure everything is running smoothly. The young team of servers are smart, friendly and efficient, and nothing is too much trouble for them. We are always particularly impressed with Malcolm, Mark and Sara, three young team members who always seem to go out of their way to make our visit special.
On the menu, the haggis bonbons are a delicious starter, and we have now tried three or four of the main courses on our various visits, all of which have been excellent and very reasonably priced. Tonight we opted for the evening special of Cajun chicken pasta, which was simply wonderful.
There is always a good mix of young and older clientele, all enjoying the easy ambience and pleasing décor of this fine establishment. You can dwell over a tea or coffee in the morning, perhaps drop in for a quiet pint in the afternoon, or enjoy a bar meal at dinner time from the enticing menu. There were two cask ales on tap on our most recent visit, both of which were delicious and perfectly presented. There is also an impressive array of whiskies and other spirits available to tempt you to stay longer after your meal.
All in all, this is a really good place to spend the evening in Bishopbriggs, with a nice atmosphere and excellent food and drinks on offer. It is pleasing to find a place in which a good mix of younger and older people all can feel comfortable and at ease. We are now fairly regular visitors, and we will certainly be back again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback! Everything you describe is exactly what we have tried to put in place and I'm so glad it all worked out on your visit, best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“About time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice proper food, not frozen rubbish. So glad there is finally a decent place to eat in bishopbriggs. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thankyou very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you back at The Avenue soon, best regards
Roddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Have been here for drinks several times and managed to to go for dinner the other night. Food was very good, mac and cheese (veggie version) and chicken and haggis.... service very good too... waiting staff very attentive without being over bearing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your impressions. We have been overwhelmed by the positive response from our customers and word of mouth and feedback has been our most positive endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
best regards
Roddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Like other reviews, we heard good reports from family and friends. Went with family on a bank holiday Monday. Place was not too busy. Staff friendly. Food well presented and good portions. We all agreed that we all eat here again....Keep up the good work folks..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to spread the good word, we are very grateful for your comments and look forward to seeing you again very soon
best regards
Roddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hot hot hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited for the 1st time last week having heard great things from my friends and they were not wrong! I only really popped in for a drink but ended up having the hot and spicy chicken wings, jeezo that sauce is hot, but Fraser the head chef is even hotter! Good job chaps, I'll be back x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roddy y, Manager at The Avenue, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thankyou Audrey for your lovely comments. Fraser is now spending much more time front of house as a result, but rest assured the quality coming from the kitchen remains as good as ever!
Best regards
Roddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Avenue also viewed

 

Been to The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.