We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Valerie

Patisserie Valerie
West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2PS, Scotland
+44 141 204 3807
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,016 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Lovingly handmade cakes
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Afternoon treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I'm sorry but the apricot Danish pastry was ,in scottish parlance , choogh! The pastry was too thick so I won't be having that again. So it turned out to be not such a treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    16
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a birthday celebration meal for 14 people on Saturday night. From the starters through the main courses to the desserts everyone raved about their choices especially the desserts.(The waffles were to die for).Presently they do not have a license for alcohol and you are allowed to bring your own booze!!! Being a large group we created our own atmosphere and the service could not have been better.I would highly recommend this restaurant and will certainly be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited last night as part of a birthday party celebration in a group of 14. Staff were very frienly and premises well presented and welcoming. The menu was fairly varied so was plenty of choices available depending on both tastes and how hungry you are. Despite huge selection of desserts on display, one of the group fancied Belgian waffles - no problem and staff quickly accomodated his choices - well done. They don't yet have a licence so it was BYOB and the staff very quickly had all the wines, beers etc (plenty of it!!) on ice and ready to serve which they did often and with smiles. Thanks also to nearby table who sent over a bottle of red which they didn't manage to finish - delicious! Overall a very good night, very good food, attentive and fun service so a huge thanks to birthday girl Geraldine, her partner David, family and friends but also to Chef and staff for contributing to such a good time. Obrigado!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands + USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

To order to make a proper review we visited this place 3 times over the course of two days; once for tea and cake, again for breakfast, and for dinner. On all three occasions our food and drinks were delivered in a timely manner. Of particular note was the quality of the cakes which were very light and tasted impeccably well. For breakfast the french toast was high quality, the scrambled eggs were made properly and delivered hot. The orange juice was obviously freshly pressed. The crispy bacon was indeed crispy as requested. For dinner the 8 oz steak was done correctly and the cannelloni was made to high quality. I highly recommend this patisserie over most restaurants in the downtown Glasgow area. The only minor complaint I had was that no liquor was served and I was informed that the restaurant is waiting on a liquor license.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Expensive and awful!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Attracted by front if shop, cakes look lovely, windows clean.
The nice experience ended there. Waitress could not be bothered. Prices very high but food not good at all. Very rarely do I not tip but did not intend to tip here. However, my £2 change was not brought back anyway.
Never again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Valerie also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Valerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Valerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.