We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New kid on the block” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charcoals cafe

Charcoals cafe
74 Trongate | g15ep, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 2586482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,722 restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New kid on the block”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had heard they had opened in the Trongate and partner had heard some good things so went last night. Excellent service throughout and were treated to some free extras to try including a specially flavoured naan and chicken wings. Has aloo chana to start with poppadoms from the tandoor - really great tastes and whole meal was about flavours rather than being bombarded by too much spice. Then for mains had lamb and chicken tandoori dishes - the whole meal was top notch, would easily go back and would easily recommend to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    114
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charcoals delivers again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Headed to charcoals renfield st on a Saturday night but reservations only, so headed to the sister cafe inTrongate and wasn't disappointed.
Chicken chaat and chicken pakora to start was as good as any I've eaten. Oh and before that course we were giving complimentary, yes free chicken wings as well as poppadum and dips. :- )
Mains are served as tapas, however two dishes each with nan and rice was just too much even for my big appetite so be wary. (Doggy bag request was no bother.:- )
The restaurant didnt have a drinks licence at the time of writing but you can bring your own for a small cover charge.
Well done charcoals. See you again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the "tapas" more like TAPAS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We love Charcoals, so wanted to try the new cafe.
I couldn't have been happier with the service, the food, the ambiance !
Went for lunch and couldn't possibly have eaten all the food we were served, the portions are HUGE, add to that a very enthusiastic Ashish bringing us things to try, and we were stuffed to bursting point!
The chef very kindly made a dish for me that wasn't on the menu, and recommended mains for us to try! Wonderful!
If you eat here guys, you are on to a winner! It is just delightful!
I wish this restaurant every success , I'll definitely be back again and again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recommended by trip Advisor, worth every star of its 5 star recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having plans cancelled on, myself and my father decided to look for somewhere to eat for the evening. at the recommendation of trip advisor we decided to venture to the Charcoals cafe.
The waiters were attentive but not over bearing, the food was made fresh to order and it didn't have the accompanying wait time one would expect with made to order food. the Tapas style allowed for sampling the menu. The portions were generous and it was some of the most tender lamb i have ever eaten.
Thoroughly enjoyable experience from start to finish, looking forward to another excuse to go back and try another selection from the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After looking for somewhere to go for an early dinner today in Glasgow we found this place on tripadvisor. We booked online and were not disappointed. Firstly the staff are the nicest and friendliest I have experienced in a long time and were happy to recommend dishes. The food was absolutely delicious, particularly the charcoal chicken. The dishes are tapas style and we order 4 between us with one rice and one naan and we were stuffed! The portions are a good size and it means you can have a taste of a few dishes rather than choosing just the one.
Don't be put off with the title 'Cafe ' as this restaurant provides first class service and food and I would highly recommend it for any Indian food lovers.
If you want alcohol bring a bottle as they do not yet have an alcohol license.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoals cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Charcoals cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charcoals cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.