We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cook and Indi's World Buffet

Cook and Indi's World Buffet
74 Kirkintilloch Road, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 772 7636
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #696 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I went there with family and between us all we spent over £700 and for that got poor service. The food was very bad and would not recommend this place to any one.

If we rated this a 1 then that would be over the top.. there are better places to eat and you get more for what you pay..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    11
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“1 of the better buffet restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

went for a family meal - great variety, 4 different pizza's,2 pasta dishes, kids buffet section, 8 different indian curries, 8 chinese main dishes, great selection of starters(starters where my favourite bit) and dessert area with various cakes and ice-creams - was really impressed defineatly my favourite buffet restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I hope this restaurant has improved since I visited a number of weeks ago. I tried to register the site on trip advisor so that I could express my displeasure., with little success. The decor is cheap and nasty and reminiscent of a cafeteria. We tried all different types of food and I can honestly say that this was as bad as I have experienced. The indian and chinese starters remined me of those frozen platters that you find in frozen food stores and supermarkets. we moved on to the main courses, all were luke warm. I expressed my concerns to a member of staff who said he would speak to the chef. We then went to try the carvery. Sorry, it is finished was the reply at the counter. We looked at the Italian section and there was nothing there to inspire. I tried a wedge of pizza, this too was cold. We waited a while to see if the heating had been turned up on the dishes, alas no, they were still luke warm. Finally we went to the dessert section. This was a joke, a limited selection of ice cream, and the cakes were similar to those we have seen in a well known store ***land. I usually avoid buffet restaurants and this visit justified my belief that if you want an Indian meal, go to an Indian restaurant. The same applies to other types of cuisine. Better to be a master of one than jack of all trades. I spoke to the manager on our way out of the restauant and he asked us to come back on another occasion. Suffice to say, we have not returned and I hope for everybody that does go, that things have improved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“False advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The menu reads well with an excellent choice however the dishes that were put out were only a small selection of the dishes advertised. Was extremely disappointed. The oriental dishes that were out were not a good selection. The Indian dishes were tasteless. The pizzas ran out + were not replaced. The ice cream was the cheapest of the cheap + not very nice. With exception of the salad bar most of the starters were deep fried.

Tables were cleared quick + the waiting staff friendly. Got our drinks order wrong. Ordered vodka+ diet coke, received diet coke which tasted funny. Guess it was a very cheap brand.


  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went in for lunch! The indian currys and the pizzas were good! Really enjoyed them! However the oriental section was poor! The selection of dessert wasnt bad either! Overall not bad experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook and Indi's World Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Cook and Indi's World Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook and Indi's World Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.