We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Give Boring Food The Boot!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riccardo's Italian Kitchen

Riccardo's Italian Kitchen
512, St Vincent Street, Glasgow G3 8XZ, Scotland
0141 248 9174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“" Give Boring Food The Boot!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This cafe/restaurant certainly lives up to its motto, blazoned across its varied and tempting menu. As a regular visitor to Italy and having just returned from Naples, I was seeking some authentic Italian cooking- often difficult to find in many " Italian" restaurants, where one is presented with a stodgy pizza or a tastelessly bland dish of pasta. Riccardo's however is a cosy little gem with genuine Italian cooking, packed full of flavours. The menu includes a variety of pasta and pizza dishes and the restaurant's speciality Rotolato- a homemade pizza base,rolled and oven baked with a variety of delicious fillings. I started with a spaghetti scoglieri followed by a whole sea bream, one of the day's specials. Both were excellent, reasonably priced and with very generous portions. There's a great choice of Italian wines. I love the Montepulciano but the house red at £13.95 a bottle tastes just as good. Riccardo's is an easy walk from Charing X and convenient for Kelvingrove Park and Museum and if you're visiting the SECC, the footbridge takes you to the train station with the restaurant close by. Riccardo's can be found at 512 St. Vincent St. Finnieston, Glasgow G3 8XZ. Tel. 0141 248 9174

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just had dinner tonight, and felt compelled to write a review due to lovely meal. This is a place for people who really appreciate good italian food. We usually eat in a very popular italian in the city centre, and were very impressed with the quality of all food in Ricardo's..stiff competition for the more established italian restaurants. Ricardo was lovely, and what also makes this place is so special is that you can order dishes to suit exactly what you want. ie. I'm trying to lose weight, and Ricardo let me order just what I wanted, and the meal was absolutely gorgeous. My husband and 2 daughters were very impressed with their scrummy pizzas. We will definataey return, and will recommend to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very tasty Italian lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Food was lovely and the portions were very generous. The menu had a great choice.
There is a great deal currently on at lunchtime, which you can choose a pizza or pasta for £5. I opted for the pasta and my friend had one of the rolled up pizzas. As much as I was enjoying mine I was already planning what I would have the next time.
The restaurant looks very nice from outside and I was delighted to find that the food, atmosphere and service were second to none.
Riccardo is a lovely man and he makes you feel like nothing is too much trouble.
I will definitely be back and the sooner the better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“serendipitous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

GO!!! We drove past this restaurant on the way to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum and was attracted by its fresh crisp appearance.Boy did it live up to expectations the food is to order and Riccardo asks what sauce ,what pasta what everything you would like then delivers Laugh at the wine descriptions,then have the house wine.
.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great, food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food and a nice relaxed atmosphere. We never felt rushed. Have tried this place for a quick coffee, lunch and dinner - all have been really good. The evening specials are fab and great value! For lunch try the Rotolatta (rolled up pizza/wrap type thing) its very tasty. Riccardo and the chefs are really chatty and they were very accommodating when I asked for a little change to the menu. Really worth a visit. Good accessible toilet if you can't manage to the downstairs toilets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riccardo's Italian Kitchen also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Riccardo's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riccardo's Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.