We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in Neilston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Goat

The Dancing Goat
105 Main Street, Glasgow G78 3NH, Scotland
(44)07930910168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: French, American, Brasserie, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Kapiti
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Neilston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Friendly waitress, very helpful. Lots of interesting choices at reasonable prices. The steaks (8oz rib eye) were well up to standard for a rib eye. The handcut chips were excellent (worth the journey for themselves alone). Also recommend the tomato and basil salad, the haggis and the mushroom starter. Good wine list for a small place. Quaintly appealing decor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It's Not Fat And It's Not A Duck, It's A Goat - Thankfully!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Having lived in Neilston for about a year and now that they've changed the menu to more tradititional fare, we thought it was time to try the place out. The latest menu has all dishes listed as under £10, which is incredible value given the range and quality of what's on offer.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the service was good and the food was delicious. The decor is a bit quirly but I like that; it always gives you something more to talk about. Going by the new menu and what we had for dinner, it's by far the best restaurant in the area and I'm pretty we'll be going back for more.

To be honest, the first time we checked the menu out about a year ago, there was absolutely nothing on it that either of us fancied eating. Nothing puts me off a menu more than words like jus, warm, galette or ballotine. It was as if they aspired to be another Fat Duck or were going for a Michelin star - in Neilston. Not impossible for sure but it was always going to be an uphill climb. Thankfully, they've changed tack and now cater for a much larger market.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The Dancing Goat is a real diamond in the rough of Neilston's standard chippies and pub grub options for a meal out. The decor inside the restaurant is so unusual and quaint and creates a nice homely atmosphere.

I had lunch here with my Gran, who chose the haggis which she said was delicious and served with a tasty sauce. I chose the squash and sage risotto from the excellent choice of vegetarian dishes which was lovely, full of flavour and the rice was cooked to perfection. It did take a while for our food to arrive, however it tasted really fresh so was worth the wait!

We finished off our meal with home baked banana cake which was divine!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely meal at a reasonable price. As we were there on a Saturday it was the A La Carte menu we had to opt for . The portions were generous, especially the starters, and well cooked. Shared the cinnamon waffles and regretted I had to share it ! Younger waitress very nice and friendly , older one not so helpful. Had to ask for a wine glass and napkin as we were short of one and got the feeling she checked to see if we were telling the truth and not hiding it , eventually we got the glass but only after reminding her. On a positive note , I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My partner and I went for lunch today before we picked the kids up from school. Two mains for a tenner! Bargain! I got the fish and chips, billy got the pork and chorizo burger. Both were lovely! Didn't have time to stay for dessert but delighted when the lady said they do take away. Got a massive slice of carrot cake and chocolate cake. Both were good but the carrot cake was to die for! I would go back just for that! Can't believe it's only up the rd! 1st time there but certainly not the last.. Even better.. They are opened on a Sunday morning for breakfast,not just the run of the mill stuff but a really nice ones..eggs Benedict, French toast... All the good stuff! Definitely worth a visit.. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dancing Goat also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Dancing Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Goat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.