We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt pay full price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SJ at Snooks

SJ at Snooks
Unit 12, Westbourne Centre | Barrhead, Glasgow G78 1LR, Scotland
0141 876 0229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #739 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, Scotland.
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wouldnt pay full price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was last in Snooks about 15 years ago and the decor hasnt changed at all. I quite like the big paintings of old Barrhead but in general the decor/furnishings are really dated now. Even the old rocking horse at the door is past it. Toilets especially need a revamp. And the framed menu above the urinal? Weird.
Snooks was busy and there were plently of staff on. 80s music to fit the surroundings but not too loud. Service from our young waitress and drinks waiter was good and we had the steak/wine voucher deal. Which was good value at £15. Steak was a bit fatty/gristly but not too bad. Sauces fine, but chips and veg a bit bland and onion rings greasy. Puddings were fine. Overall, ok with the voucher but wouldnt want to pay full price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    11
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 reasons not to eat here... Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Owner/manager - walked into the restaurant after making a reservation for 5pm, first thing we see is the manager sprawled out on a couch fast asleep in an empty restaurant!! No embarrassment whatsoever. If we hadnt paid with groupon vouchers our experience in snooks would have ended then and there.

Music - Hardcore dance music, wham, westlife in a steakhouse serving plates for up to £25 pounds each? Inappropriate.

Devious - Before writing this I should point out that i have 8 years experience in hospitality and work in the industry to this day, 3 of which were spent managing a steakhouse in a 4* hotel, unbeknown to my hosts. Our waitress, moira (who was lovely) offered us an 8 pound surcharge to upgrade our sirloin steaks to fillet steaks, which we accepted whilst ordering. When the food arrived the chef had given us sirloin steaks regardless of our order, we imagined the order hadnt been processed correctly until we got the bill and were charged an extra 8 pounds for fillets we didnt receive. The chef simply hoped we didnt know the difference and gave us a cheaper cut of meat for the price of a fillet. Bad management is one thing but attempting to cheat and con your customers for profit is absolutely unforgivable and unlike anything ive ever seen in hospitality.

We didnt complain at the time as our waitress moira was faultless and we didnt want her to think any critisism was aimed at her. Had i complained about the sleeping manager or con artist chef they leave you with the impression they couldnt have cared less.

Date attended - 5/8/13

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Deceivingly nice place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Been here a few times and when you get over the exterior of the building you will find excellent service and great food. Staff happy to accommodate at very short notice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to snooks on a groupon deal tonight. We will not be back!I have never been made to feel like a second class citizen on a groupon deal but tonight was awful...I quote "The voucher entitles you to two sirloin steaks , one bowl of chips and a small glass of wine each and thats it! "When we asked if we could have potatoes or jacket instead of chips we were informed" I will ask but it depends on what mood the chef is in....to be honest I doubt it"
What on earth is that ????Surely one can expect at least some small choice in the matter. The steak was , in fact very good but NO VEG ..not even a tomato or a mushroom....No sauces offered..and a bowl of chips to share. Toilets not up to much , dated sad decor and I nearly tripped over the carpet /rug thing outside the toilets.Not impressed....it used to get a great name locally but it must have declined. If I had paid 20 pounds for our steaks I would have been really angry, but , even if the deal is really great on paper , I will not be returning........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Regular who will NEVER return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having been a regular at this restaurant over the past few years it was with much delight that they started taking part in the Groupon, Wowcher & LivingSocial schemes as it meant saving a fair amount of money at my favourite eatery in the southside of Glasgow. It saddens me to write a review stating that I will never return...

Whilst I appreciate times are hard for everyone the quality of food and drinks has dramatically decreased within Snooks over the past year, with steaks becoming smaller and smaller each month we visit, and house wine be changed on a weekly basis with cheap table wine (£2.50 a btl) from Makro being supplied (Mr Crazy Cat Man has seen him in this aisle of Makro stocking up many times). It would appear that everything now comes from Makro, including the frozen veg "presented" in bowls straight out of the early 90's.

Helen J states in her review that the place is "Run Down" personally we would call this a generous review, the place has fallen into a state of disrepair - the gents toilets have no locks on the doors & the ladies are filthy with toielts that don't flush. The restuarant is fully CARPETED and by the looks of things a good shampoo wouldn't even clean it. Unfortunately we've felt the need to report this place to enviromental health on a few occasions now (Keeping a dog in a room within the restaurant, Chefs handling raw & cooked foods incorrectly, staff with small cuts on hands not covered when handling food & drinks and an absolutley filthy kitchen).

Over the past few months FOUR of the best staff Snooks has had have all quit based on the attitude of the current owners - which quite frankly is shockingly poor not only towards staff but towards paying customers, especially regulars!

These regulars will definitely not be back and will be looking to other establishments within the area or other deals on the Voucher sites for a tastier dining experience with atmosphere.

Please note not all reviews show on this page and you should search under "Snooks Steakhouse" also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SJ at Snooks also viewed

Barrhead, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to SJ at Snooks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SJ at Snooks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.