We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a let down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Greek Taverna

Athena Greek Taverna
141 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
+44 141 339 3895
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Athena Greek Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A friendly taverna with good sized portions of flavoursome Greek favourites. Great food and a warm welcome always.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have been to Athena on Argyll Street on quite a few occasions and always enjoyed it. First time in this restaurant and I was not disappointed. Took advantage of the two course lunch menu. Keftedes and then meat skewers. Great value for money. Service was excellent and so was the waiter, very polite and friendly. Next time in Glasgow I will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Athena Greek Taverna, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review your visit at Athena.

It's great to hear that you had a great experience at our Hope Street location, after visiting our previous restaurant. It sounds like the food and service was right on par to the standard that we are proud to deliver. I'm pleased to hear about so many people like yourself who are taking advantage of our 2 course lunch menu for £5.95 and enjoying is so much - great value indeed.

Thanks again and I look forward to seeing you soon,

Evan MacEachern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    62
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Could have been better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just left after taking advantage of their sunday deal.
It was value for money, we had stuffed mushrooms as starters, and chicken and veg souflaki respectively.
Service was friendly but could have been quicker.
Although it is not a McDonalds.
Would return, but not in a hurry.
Comes recommended if you go on a day where food is discounted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Friendly and prompt service, fresh, tasty food - warm pitta, usual dips, tasty lamb pasta bake and fall-off-the bone-lamb and central location, reasonable charges- what else do you need?!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Athena Greek Taverna, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience at Athena!

It sounds like you had an overall great experience with us - great to hear. I'll be sure to share your review with our chef's and our waiting staff.

Thanks again,

Evan MacEachern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Greek food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Really fresh authentic Greek Cypriot food at great value in a comfortable environment. Friendly staff. Go!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great, fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here once before we thought we would return using a 5pm deal. 25% off a starter and main course. The food was freshly made, service was great and the restaurant had a real traditional feel to it. Even without the discount the meal was a reasonable price. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan M, Manager at Athena Greek Taverna, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know what you thought about your visit to Athena!
It sounds like you really enjoyed the food, service, value and atmosphere - what more can you ask for! Next time you're in you should leave your e-mail address with us so you can sign up to our monthly newsletter (we offer some great monthly promotions in the newsletter) - the secret it out!

Look forward to seeing you soon,

Evan MacEachern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Greek Taverna also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Athena Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.