We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Market Glasgow

Central Market Glasgow
51 Bell Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NX, Scotland
1415520902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Dessert, Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but some flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A refreshingly different restaurant in Glasgow. Lovely environment and fresh menu. Food is always good although the menu may be limited for some. Having been three times every visit has involved some sort of mix-up with the bill and some members of staff have being a little rude and arrogant. If it weren't for these service flaws this could be a five star venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Beautiful surroundings, food and wine. At last, a restaurant that knows what it's doing!

We will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Felt sorry for rest of the diners last night because of the noise from our table of 9”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my food whilst others at the table drank more than they ate! Was going to go for pigeon & black pudding to start until I saw the Boudin Noir and I wasn't disappointed. The hangar steak was an obvious choice for my main and even better when two of the drinkers ordered the same, so 3 of us shared & devoured their 2 main courses too. I didn't mind paying an equal share of the drinks bill when I had almost 2 steaks. My wife loved the goats cheese Ravioli and her beef brisket appetiser and her cheese plate to finish. Would happily go again, just hope when I do, there is not another table of 9 noisy people there at the same time, what goes around, comes around.....

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This really is an excellent place to eat, in a very central location, as the name suggests. Not one of these depressing never ending Menus, but one which covers all the bases, none the less. The menu's changed a few times over the period we've been going there & none of our choices has ever dissappointed. All in all, very good value for very good & well thought out food, served in an attractive setting by excellent yet unobtrusive staff.
PS couldn't agree more with A Douglas Boy. The beef brisket starter is an absolute winner & now back on the menu (by public demand, i imagine)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great to have this in Glasgow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Small, but sorted. We've eaten here three times now and on each occasion have enjoyed professional, yet unpretentious service. Being able to watch the chefs at work in the open kitchen is a treat and we appreciate their flexibility in accommodating our sometimes difficult menu requests (ie vegan husband). Love the decor - not trying to be trendy like some other Glasgow venues, just smart and easy cool. Excellent wine list and love the wine flights. Cracking breakfast as well!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to Central Market Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Market Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.