We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite care taken about everything except the wine temperature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Market Glasgow

Central Market Glasgow
51 Bell Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NX, Scotland
1415520902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Dessert, Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite care taken about everything except the wine temperature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Staff were exceptionally friendly and,except in one respect,gave excellent service. The burger
, bream (x2), and ling were excellent with the ling coming with an interesting seafood sauce. The decor was super-cool unlike the sauvignon. This arrived at the table at room temperature plunged in an ice bucket.and with the optimistic advice to leave it to cool for a few minutes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best things come to those who wait.......and wait......and wait some more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was part of a large group who had pre booked on a Saturday evening, we were seated up in the Mezzanine level. Lovely surroundings and the food itself was nothing short of superb!

My only real critisism's were the huge amount of time we had to wait. 45 minutes before our orders were even taken and the best part of 1 hour 20 minutes before our starters hit the table.
Also £10 for a 100ml glass of wine is a bit steep. Running out of the house white by 7pm didn't help matters.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A nice new additon to the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Visited for business lunch with a colleague - impressive looking venue, with open kitchen and seating by windows, or on mezzanine level.

Menu shows a seafood bias, though menu also has a wide range of other options too, and the wine list is comprehensive, so the venue can suit everything from a quick lunch / coffee to a more formal dinner.

Service is excellent, pricing is good value given the quality of the food served.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for any meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We visited here just after Christmas as I'd heard it had not long opened & I was intrigued to try it out.

We were seated in the mezzanine area, next to a large party but that wasn't an issue for us. We ordered the sardines & 6 oysters to share for starters - both were amazing. The sardines came with chorizo & lime oil which really complemented the fish.

Our mains arrived & were delicious! I had the spatchcock poussin which was perfect & accompanied by a sprout salad which was melt in the mouth perfection! My fiance had the market burger which also got the thumbs up.

Overall a really good meal & the it's a really chilled out atmosphere. The restaurant serves brunch & sandwiches as well during the day so will definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Glasgow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've been in here a few times since it opened & each time the food has been exceptional.

The white tiles and open kitchen area give this airy eatery a feeling of being a lot bigger than it actually is. Sitting at the bar area, it conjures up images of being in a restaurant next to a bustling fish market such as Billingsgate in London. The ice filled oyster bar just adds to this ambience and is a sure sign that the team at Central Market are serving nothing but the freshest and tastiest seafood in Glasgow.

I highly recommend the oysters, mussels & fruits de mer, also try the roast anya potatoes as a side dish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to Central Market Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Market Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.