We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Market Glasgow

Central Market Glasgow
51 Bell Street | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NX, Scotland
1415520902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: European, Delicatessen, Dessert, Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, International, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Central Market was recommended to me after a work colleague came into work raving about the dinner he had. I was pleasantly surprised by this restaurant/cafe/deli. The service was impeccable, quick and with a smile. The atmosphere was spot on, good lighting and the music was as it should be in a restaurant, in the background and non-intrusive, we could hold a conversation easily. The menu was a real surprise with some interesting ingredients, of which the staff were only to happy to explain. It's refreshing to see chefs bringing different ingredients to life. I opted for the iberico pork shoulder steak which was delicious and only £12. The wine list was also impressive and a good price. The desert menu was versatile with something for everyone. I went for the Chocolate tart which was to die for and again only £5. Central Market is well worth a visit and stands out as a classy little spot for some top quality nosh...highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went in to this place as it looked great from the outside and we fancied a change of venue for brunch. First impressions were good as we were shown to a table by the floor to celing windows.
The kitchen is open, so you can see the abundance of staff busy cooking and prepping the food.
The service was good and the waitress pleasent and attentive.
We were even informed of a fantastic review in the Sunday herald that day.
We ordered two orange juices and to our delight it was 100% freshly squeezed. However, it would have been nice to get more than half a glass.
When the food finally turned up it was all downhill.
My wife had ordered a sausage sandwhich and i had gone for eggs benedict. The sausages were not just well done, they were burnt to the point of being inedible. My eggs benedict was cooked to perfection, but stone cold.
In fairness they removed the sausage sandwhich from the bill after we pointed out how burnt it was. Overall a big disappointment to such a big build up
So it seems that too many cooks really do spoil the brunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have had Brunch on two separate occasions at Central Market Glasgow. What a treat! We had eggs benedict, susage buns, french toast and various coffees. The staff were really friendly and attentive. The food was tasty and provided a great start to the day. Just need to go back to try dinner!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Bell that lost its Ding-a-Ling!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Bell that lost its Ding-a-Ling!


Put it down to teething troubles or not having huge expectations fulfilled but this turned out to be somewhat of a disappointment.

Hopes were sky-high after Joanna Blythman, one of Scotland’s most respected food critics, gave Central Market in Bell Street in Glasgow’s Merchant City a rave review in the Sunday Herald.

She must have been there almost before the paint was dry as when we dined the restaurant had only been open for four weeks. She had also clearly been there when staff were on form.

First impressions were impressive: three-quarters full even in midweek, open wrought iron staircase leading from the ground floor to the 1st storey. Oyster bar in front, young staff (a minor warning sign?).

Opposite us on level one were two Glaswegian macho males downing beers and enjoying good natured banter but at a decibel level more suitable for a football terracing rather than a genteel restaurant. They were joined by a friend who ordered a bowl of chips.

The menu was small but interesting and included two fish courses as mains: ling and roast whole sea bream. We ordered one of each but said we would share one portion of roast potatoes and salad. And we’d have a bottle of the Muscadet sur Lie which the wine list confirmed was an ideal accompaniment to fish.

In came the sea bream, perfectly cooked and tasty, potatoes and salad, but no ling. The waitress apologised. She had misunderstood the order. Don’t worry, we said. We had enough potatoes and salad for two and had already polished off some nice bread and tapenade.

Back came the waitress. I’m sorry again, sir, but there’e no more Muscadet. There had been a rush on it … She brought us an alternative, which was couple of quid cheaper.

The noise from the adjoining table was getting even louder with the three men now shouting at one another - matey and non-threatening but the opposite of relaxing.

We moved downstairs for delightful poached quince with hazelnut and yoghurt and a pleasant cheese board. The decibel level descended.

Another waitress restored some of the lost points by offering a complimentary glass of wine.

Food was reasonably priced although the main courses can look deceptively cheap if you don’t factor in the separate charge for vegetables. Wine is not cheap although this is Merchant City where restaurateurs think they can charge almost anything.

All in all, this is a promising addition to Merchant City’s restaurant range.

But on the evidence of our visit management would do well to step up staff training and front-of-house administration. Our bill included the higher priced bottle of wine we never had.

And Central Market will have to decide whether it’s an up-market restaurant or a boozers’ pub. It can’t be both.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to the Glasgow scene.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Sensational quality and exceptional value. From the first steps through the door until we left, The welcome and service was first class.I had the sardines to start, 4 plump fish with a chilli chipotle dressing and limes.Great quality and taste. My wife had roast shallots with beetroot and goats cheese, again great.The mains, both of us had Ling with venus clams and artichokes. The fish was perfect and the clams and artichoke perfect partners. A fine selection of cheeses and a pudding of poached quince finished the meal. A delicious Sauvignon Blanc accompanied the meal.The service was friendly and efficient.I would encourage anyone to try here and am confident they will return. We certaily will.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Market Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to Central Market Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Market Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.