We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Stay We've Ever Had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olympic House Apartments to your Saves list
Olympic House Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3BU, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST Stay We've Ever Had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My friends and I love going on city breaks, Glasgow being one of our favourites. We've had nice accommodation before but have never experienced anything as perfect as this before. Situated on George Square, we literally had to walk 1 minute and we were at the door of the apartment....great start! The apartment itself was unbelievable, situated on the 7th Floor, it had its own terrace and walkway between sitting area and bedrooms. The apartment was very contemporary, with everything you could ask for, including dishwasher!! It was immaculately clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. I do not think we will look for anywhere else when visiting Glasgow in future, this place would take some serious beating. We felt like film stars in our penthouse and loved every minute of our stay. Roll on next Glasgow visit!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellebrownmax, General Manager at Olympic House Apartments, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Max Olympic House Glasgow. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us and we are proud of our city centre locations and apartment benefits. We are glad that you will be choosing Max for your future trips to Glasgow ( and I hope elsewhere as we have 13 city centre locations) and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for choosing MAX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
7
16
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. It's a bit hard to find, but it's lovely once you enter. I booked a one bedroom appartment and was absolutely astounded with the size. This place is huge. All the furniture and fixtures seem brand new. The building itself is older, so windows to the exterior are old and not exactly sound proof. I stayed street-side and would have preferred to hear less street noise, but it was not a huge problem for me. I also would appreciate more light blocking window treatments since the street outside is brightly lit at night. I never interacted with staff, but the after hours key pickup and drop-off worked perfectly for me.

Room Tip: Street-side rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013. As these are serviced apartments, there is no concierge but the check-in instructions were easy to follow and we soon found ourselves in our clean 2nd floor apartment. That was where the positive experience ended.

We arrived in Glasgow after travelling for several weeks and specifically chose this accommodation as it offered a kitchen for self-catering and a washing machine and dryer. We put a full load of washing in the machine before going to bed, intending to dry it in the morning.
At 2:10am we were woken by loud banging in the corridor. The fire brigade were banging down the door to the unoccupied apartment next door due to flooding.

When we woke again the next morning we had no water at all. Therefore no toilet, no heating (the heaters are run on boilers therefore require water) in unseasonably cold weather - it was snowing - no shower, no kitchen taps, no bathroom taps therefore no breakfast or coffee in the room and no cleaning of teeth. Also, our full load of washing locked in the machine. Nothing we could do would prise it open. The dank smell in the hallway directly outside our apartment was disgusting and only got worse over the following 2 nights. The water was well over the top of my shoes.

There was no explanation or information from Management by email to my address I supplied to them, not even a simple note slipped under our door to explain the situation. Knocks on the onsite manager's door went unanswered. We could not ring the emergency contact number as per instructions as these calls went unanswered and we could not leave a voicemail as per instructions either as the message bank was full.

The closest toilet was a 10 minute walk at St Enoch's Shopping Centre.

We wasted a whole day being stalled by Management. When we finally were able to talk to the onsite manager, he was being stalled in the same way by his own supervisors. If the onsite manager could not get hold of his own company supervisors, I don't know what we guests were supposed to do.

In summary, I paid money for a completely unlivable situation and a waste of a whole day's sight seeing. Being from Australia, it is unlikely we will have the chance to visit Glasgow again.

I understand emergencies happen but information and communication is paramount; a concept Max Serviced Apartments plainly do not understand. I am disgusted by their complete lack of consideration for their own guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for a couple of days on a shopping trip (shops, Bars, Restaurants all 5 minute walk away)
Apartment was GREAT!! had everything we needed for a short trip and more.
we telephoned a week before arrival and the access codes was emailed to us
Service was spot Everyone at the Apartments was so nice and extremely helpful!!
the room/bathroom. It was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, well maintained and spacious.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is superb. It's just a short walk away from Queen Street Station. Gregg's and Pret A Manger are downstairs which means breakfast was a no brainer.

Do, make sure you have the password to get into the building before you arrive. Call the management office to have the keys in the security box before arriving.

Apartment was clean and beautifully furnished. Toilet fixtures and kitchen appliances are good. The only letdown was the bathroom floor tiles are starting to give way. Shower is awesome but it will be nice to have some toiletries in the bathroom.

Walls are either thin or the group staying next door was terribly noisy. Did not get much sleep for one night but other days are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros
Location - could not be better, overlooking George Square, within easy walking distance of all city centre attractions.
Size - very spacious. We booked a one bedroom. Bathroom was decent size, shower over bath not walk in but good shower and hot water. Bedroom was good size and comet, with wardrobes and chest of drawers. Living/dining/kitchen all in one and very large room. Chaise long sofa, 6 seat dining table, kitchen with fridge, dishwasher, microwave, cooker.
WiFi - free and good.
Security - code or key swipe door entry, good. Lift to apartment.
Gregg's and Prey a Manger next door so easy to get coffee or snack.

Cons - cleaning was OK but not perfect. Reception is a well used office but perfectly OK.

Don't expect 5 star reception and service. These are serviced apartments, also had washing machine, ironing board etc in cupboard and you are expected to was/dry your towels. I would say equivalent to 3 star hotel. Size and location fabulous and OK for price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Bit tired looking and grubby for serviced apartments. Had to take the cleaning wipes to the tops and surfaces before settling in. Good location for shopping, bars, restaurants and local travel although you'll be hearing most of the goings on outside during the night but that's city centre living. Also the worse possible bed pillows so take your own if you like a bit of head support. Excellent free wifi and very very warm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic House Apartments

Address: Queen Street, Glasgow G1 3BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olympic House Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Olympic House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic House Apartments Glasgow, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.