We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No return call” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glasgow Climbing Centre

Glasgow Climbing Centre
534 Paisley Road, Glasgow G51 1RN , Scotland
0141 427 9550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Fun & Games in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award winning Glasgow Climbing Centre offers a unique rock climbing experience, for people looking for a new sport to enjoy, or for existing climbers just arrived in Glasgow. We make full use of the converted church we are in, with climbing routes stretching up into the original oak beamed ceiling. We offer Bouldering, Top/Bottom roped climbing and Lead climbing with route graded from beginner to elite. Our great eatery, The Balcony Cafe, offers something for climbers and non climbers alike, with alternate vistas of climbing and original stained glass windows. This year we are Hit Listed by The List, as one of the finest cafes in Glasgow.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No return call”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wanted to try our hand at climbing here while in Glasgow. Left both a voice message and sent an email to secure reservations and received a response to neither.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Hallfour.
Thanks for your feedback, with dates of contact. Your emails unfortunately were caught by our spam filter (I found them when I had the dates right). That is no excuse for us not returning your answerphone message though, and am sorry we missed out on seeing your climbing skills. I hope you will try us again next time you are in Glasgow.
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Rock Climbing with a Soft landing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The climbing walls are colour-coded for all abilities. None are very high and the floor is thick rubber so that if you do come off you have a safe landing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi April.
Thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Did you do any roped climbing, or was it just the bouldering? Ropes make falling off even safer than soft mats, so long as you trust the person holding the other end of the rope......... :-)
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I decide to conquer my fear of heights and booked a 2 part intro to climbing course here, now I'm hooked on climbing! The staff are really nice, it's a converted church so is stunning, and the cafe food is great :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi RJY89.
Thanks for your great review. I'm glad your hooked into climbing now. Have you roped any of your friends into it yet (pun awful, but intended!)

All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great kids' party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had my daughter's 8th birthday party here. The girls had a great time (as did my husband, who joined the group), particularly playing "lava floor" in the bouldering room. After the climbing, we all had food in the cafe. I can't praise the experience highly enough, especially the food, which was freshly prepared in the tiny kitchen. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Helen.
Thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad your group enjoyed their session, and the cafe food.
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“1/2 day climbing course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Both my children were interested in giving climbing a go and after being recommended to another "nearby" centre we decided to send them to GCC! They had a fantastic time and the staff were great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCC_Manager_Rob, Manager at Glasgow Climbing Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Bazmc666.
Thanks for your lovely review. Im glad your children enjoyed their session. Have you been back since?
All the best.
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glasgow Climbing Centre also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Glasgow Climbing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasgow Climbing Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.