We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value food and service with a smile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camperdown Place

Camperdown Place
4-5 West George Street, Glasgow, Scotland
0141 331 6600
Improve this listing
Ranked #851 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value food and service with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

As you must know by now I like a bargain!! This is becoming my regular haunt for food before my nightclassl!! Last week I had the fish and chips,and, as it was before 5pm - I had a great bargain so treated myself to a wee glass of wine to wash it down! The fish was freshly cooked, thick and white inside, crisp non greasy batter coating and great chips, served with garden peas! Just the thing to see me through the time between work and learning! I even had the chance to do some homework! The staff are very efficient and the girl who was working in my area had a lovely friendly smile - she obviously enjoys her job and it shows! There is always a lovely atmosphere in here - all down to the lovely staff and great food!! whether you want a quick snack before travelling or want to linger for a chatty evening with friends - this is the place to come!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamperdownPlace, General Manager at Camperdown Place, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Also look out for our new menu which launches on Monday 18th March which has some new outstanding additions we're sure you will enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    5
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 1pm (on a Wednesday) and the place was packed out. We did a little shopping and returned at 2pm. This time we were able to get a table. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The main reason for this visit was our lunch. We were not disappointed. Really good portions at a reasonable price, and a really good atmosphere. We look forward to a return trip to Glasgow and lunch at Camperdown Place. Many thanks guys, it was well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“spoons as only they know how”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was looking for a quick pint before my train and staff excellent (not always the case in spoons). Food typical fare but going down a storm with the locals. If you know what you want and this is it then it's as good as anywhere for a cheap and cheerful fill

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We popped in for a chat, food and a drink. The ceiling is currently experiencing leaks, they had a bucket and another dish to catch the water coming down near the door but the rest of the pub was fine. The toilets are very clean and have a huge mirror in it.

The food was very reasonable and when it came, cooked to perfection. We sampled the cocktails (aboout 12 for 3 although you could get a jug for 10 pound), they didn't look amazing (the mojito had no mint leaves in it) but it tasted lovely.

Good atmosphere and the bar staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely visit again

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Watch your handbag!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Viv has been here for food before. Over to you Viv..

Curry night was very good value for money. Afternoon had a pannini, usual pub grub but very nice - standard Wetherspoon's fare.

We both popped in for a drink last week before heading for the train. We sat outside and witnessed a real life "Real Hustle". Filthy looking apparantley very drunk woman in her mid-forties plonked herself at a table. She had smeared lipstick and a gilet opened to her belly button revealing an unfortunate cleavage. She placed her black bag next to a woman's black bag on the next table. After a short while (in which she hadn't bought a drink but tried to get one off an old man sat near her) she picked up a black bag and walked off. She made a scene with a taxi-driver whilst crossing the road and then shot off, down past the Counting House. It was a short while later when the ladies noticed the "drunk" had switched bags. The run in with the taxi driver was obviously a decoy, as was her dishevelled appearance which caused most to ignore her. We noticed she walked in a remarkably straight line when making her exit - obviously a well-rehearsed scam.

So, don't let this put you off visiting this friendly hostelry, just watch your bag

Hope this helps - bubaye for now

Viv and Rick

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camperdown Place also viewed

 

Been to Camperdown Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camperdown Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.