We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jelly Beans, Coffee Beans...even Baked Beans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jellyhill Bistro

Jellyhill Bistro
195 Hyndland rd | West End, Glasgow G12 9HT, Scotland
01413410125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #904 of 1,836 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Scottish Bistro, Quirky bespoke furniture by Paul Hodgkiss...with friendly safe atmosphere, freshly prepared food served all day at reasonable prices (Prices include daily trip around the Sun)! Winter and Summer Menus with Specials..Free wi-fi and a chunk of free tablet with your hot drink. Outside heated area to watch the 'Wendy's' (West End trendy's) go by.....! Come in and get Fed up.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Jelly Beans, Coffee Beans...even Baked Beans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Jelly Hill is somewhere we go in the cold months to pass the time while the bedding is being laundered. The duvets and sheets go in the washing machine and we go into Jelly Hill for the half hour or so it takes. For coffee and cake less than 30 secs from The Steam Shop, it's a no-brainer and some day we might even try the food.

On the plus side, the staff are friendly, the coffee is decent, they always have a good selection of cakes and buns, it has free jelly beans, free wi-fi, it's doggy-friendly and sports some unique hand-crafted furniture.

On the down side, it's a bit on the wee side so if it's busy, then space can be a bit cramped. It's also a tad pricier than other cafés not very far away in Partick but then everything costs more in Hyndland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Tried to have brunch here today. Our order was taken by someone who had no idea what was available. We waited for half an hour and went to ask how they were getting on. All we wanted were a few coffees, bagels & scrambled eggs. They hadn't even started. At no point were they warning us of delays. Other customers arriving later were served. When challenged they were "just too busy". "What could they do?". Dreadful attitude and a disregard for customers. Clearly understaffed. And, to stop the management response trying to devalue the review, this is being typed by a person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Today was out first visit, would go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Today was our first visit for lunch
Food was tasty and well presented. We all ordered various options including soup and waffles. We also had the cheese board to finish which was excellent (I don't use that word often) a good choice of 6 cheeses
I will go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice seating area - food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Only popped in for a quick coffee and cake with a friend. Coffee is good quality and the carrot cake nice. It's lovely to sit outside, particularly on a sunny evening, and watch the West End life go by. First time I'd been there and didn't know the closing time, which ultimately explained the staff being fidgety around 10pm. I'd much prefer for this to be made clear near the time so you know rather than putting all the tables away around us and peering eyes from the window. Will give it another try and see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food ok, service pretty awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We popped in here on a Saturday around lunchtime. Tables remained uncleared, staff seemed to be happier chatting to their friends than helping new customers. Lady at the next table waited an age for her coffee and had to remind staff twice of her order. Our food was really pretty average given the cost.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jellyhill Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Jellyhill Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jellyhill Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.