We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar

Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar
The Townhouse | Nelson Mandela Place, Glasgow G1 2LL, Scotland
0141 332 0041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Paisley
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a Tuesday evening at 9 o'clock, Two of our party were running late so it was closer to 9-30 when we sat down. This point is important as we were the last diners in the restaurant even before our starters arrived. The relevance to this is that at no time were we made to feel rushed even though in effect the restaurant was operating solely for our benefit until we left at just after 11. We ordered the banquet for 4 which was expensive at over £40.00 each but I must judge the restaurant on its food rather than the price as there were other options at a much lower price. The food was of a high standard and very tasty and the wine is very reasonably priced. My only real gripe is that the food we ordered didn't fit on the exceptionally small table we were given which meant a side table being placed behind us which was very awkward when we had ordered dishes which were specifically for sharing. If the restaurant had been busy this would have been excusable but when there was a choice of an entire restaurant to seat us at I thought it was odd to be placed at a small table. Would I return? definitely! Top quality food

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaophraya G, Manager at Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hello/Sawasdee Ka,

Thank you for leaving a review following your most recent visit. Great to hear you enjoyed & would return.

As you quite rightly outlined, our vast menu covers more modestly priced Thai fayre to more lavish options such as the Maenum Chaophraya banquet menu that you enjoyed on your visit.

We were sorry to read you felt there wasn't enough space at the table for the menu you ordered - inevitably the host team can't predict you would be ordering from the biggest menu and so would have put you at a standard table for 4, however your server should have moved you to a bigger table on your request to ensure your comfort.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon,

Khop Khun Ka

The Chaophraya Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    314
    126
    71
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great Thai food in a nice upmarket atmosphere. Great buzz about the place. We enjoyed the full banquet meal, which was a real feast. I thought the Weeping tiger steak was delicious. We will definitely be keen to return. Packed out at 1630 on a Saturday!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a pre-concert dinner here recently with a couple of friends and I had been looking forward to trying the restaurant. It did not disappoint as the food for everyone was beautiful from start to finish. We shared a combo starter for two, between three and there was more than enough to go around. I personally went for the Thai Green Chicken Curry, not overly adventurous but the classics done well are just as great as the weird and wonderful. I had no complaints with the food, drinks and the staff were helpful, attentive and polite throughout. Will definitely be back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I are regulars in Chaophraya Glasgow. We've also been to Edinburgh a few times. The food is simply outstanding. The service is great too. We'll continue to go again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely meal & surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ate here last night before heading to Rod Stewart concert. Great value pre-theatre menu on a Friday, this was very good value 2 courses for £15. Beautiful surroundings, original features; fireplace and chandaliers. Nice seating area outside toilets, and a touch of Thailand in the feature elephants on the landing. All in all a very pleasant visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.