We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar

Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar
The Townhouse | Nelson Mandela Place, Glasgow G1 2LL, Scotland
0141 332 0041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 1,839 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $61
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Food was excellent and although pricey you felt that the quality and quantity of food merited the price tag. The private room was a little odd and for some reason they were playing grease on a television screen with the sound down? But a very impressive venue over all

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    383
    145
    76
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for an Anniversary celebration and had a wonderful evening. Had requested a booth when booking our table and that's exactly what we where given. The staff were extremely polite and very attentive. Food was excellent, and was very well presented. I cannot fault this restaurant at all. Had a wonderful experience in a wonderful restaurant. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A gift voucher led us to this venue although we had walked by it on numerous occasions. What a find! Outstanding food, venue and service. The best thai food we have tasted. The staff were extremely attentive making the entire dining experience a pleasure. Will not be walking by it in the future, a must return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the moment we entered the building we were well looked after. The staff were excellent and well trained. We had a late lunch and the food was excellent. No complaints around the table!!!!!!!
The surrounding were exceptional and made for a very special occasion. Thank you !!!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deliciously authentic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I actually cannot rant and rave enough about this place!!!! Omg, the food is just out of this world. The flavours!!! We had lunch and dinner here the same day it was that good!!!!! Myself and my husband went back packing around thailand on a budget but we had never eaten so well! Chaophraya nails authentic! The pad tai is divine!!!!!!!! Very reasonably priced, the most opulent restaurant I've dined in and very good service. I can't wait to go again!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone visiting glasgow has got to try this place! Yum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.