We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throughly enjoyed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar

Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar
The Townhouse | Nelson Mandela Place, Glasgow G1 2LL, Scotland
0141 332 0041
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Chaophraya Glasgow is Europe's largest Thai restaurant! Set in one of the city's most iconic buildings, Old Athenaeum, it offers guests the ultimate Thai dining experience in a spectacular setting. Boasting four floors with luxurious private dining spaces and the glamorous Palm Sugar Bar it is the perfect place for any occasion.
Aviemore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Throughly enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had eaten in Edinburgh Chaophreya and enjoyed it so decided to try the Glasgow restaurant. We were not disappointed. Excellent food and service good. The restaurant is spread over 3 floors of the old Town House. A wonderful building which has been beautifully decorated.
If you like Thai food then this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    661
    313
    126
    71
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner - fab venue, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had dinner with friends for a birthday lunch. The venue is fantastic - was school of music I think and the original features are all still there. Cocktail in the lounge was good, food was really lovely but the service was slow. So dont be in a hurry. There is a lift for disabled access too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Looks impressive from the outside and also inside ,staff smartly dressed that's where the good points end expensive for what you get .We had an issue with the starters with the mixed sharing plate which in very small print gives you the price for head .We ordered and did'nt realise this till we got the bill as the price for one was probably all the platter was worth .My lamb dish was good and well spiced ,But the rest of the menu is the same old tired cliche you'll have seen elsewhere only at realistic prices. The desserts a let down ,the pancakes microwave till they where to dry and the deep fried ice-cream had not the consistency of batter to make it crisp and just made the ice cream melt. Sadly just another big chain restaurant pretending to be fine dining

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I took my Mother here last Friday for the pre-theatre deal. We were handed the a la carte menu automatically. When asked to see the pre-theatre menu we were drawn a look of disgust by the waitress and advised she would get it. She didn't reappear and we were slightly embarrassed. This was disappointing as the pre-theatre was advertised clearly outside and we should have had the option. We ordered from the a la carte menu and also ordered 2 small wines. We were brought large wines and when we advised the waitress of same it was evident she was annoyed. Another waiter came and advised that we would be charged for small wines. We were charged for large wines and at £7.30 a glass I do not feel this was acceptable. If it wasn't for the terrible service and attitude from staff I would have possibly left the mistake go, however, when I pointed this out on the bill there was such a song and dance made we were embarrassed all over again. The food was nice that's all I could say. The sharing platter, which was £10 per person was a disgrace. Customers are obviously paying for the venue and decor, which, whilst nice lacks authenticity and a dull atmosphere created by rude and incompetent staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful building, but that is the only thing good about this place. Just had our dinner, poor service...4 people served in a total over 2 courses, no one asked at any point if everything was ok, or would we like another drink or water. Food was below average, and poor to call it thai! Style over substance and very over priced...their profit margin must be out of this world. As a regular diner in Glasgow and lover of fine food, please take my advise and visit one of the other more deserving restaurants in Glasgow. Hopefully you will not feel as disappointed as I do this evening!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaophraya Restaurant and Palm Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.