We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vida

La Vida
Pollokshaws Road, Glasgow, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #396 of 1,974 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Tapas Restaurant that has opened within the restaurant area of the 1901 Pub in the southside of Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“most enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

we went here on a groupon deal at Halloween. Food was excellent - we all ordered the same : chilli prawns followed by steak with blue cheese sauce on the side with patatas bravas. Everything spot on except for the patatas bravas sauce - tasted a bit like the tomato sauce from the tinned spaghetti of my childhood. To be commended was the waiter too - nothing was too much of a problem, very personable and for us, there was no issue with slow service. We are likely to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a voucher for 2course and a glass of prossecco. No prossecco but offered a large glass of wine which was. Very nice. Food was lovely choice of starters and mains I had deep fried mushrooms and steak very good! I would go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice food, pity about just about everything else......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went there through a voucher we had bought online for mussels and steak. The food itself was lovely. However, here are my main gripes with the place.........I don't like dirty glasses and cutlery. I don't like choices tableware and I don't like staff rolling their eyes when you ask for replacements.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went here last night, 4 of us, for the first time and it was amazing the food was lovely. I had breaded mushrooms then the ribeye steak and could fault nothing at all, all the other meals ordered were lovely to and not one of us could say a bad word about the food.We will definately go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i would highly recommend, ive now been twice ,one of which was a groupon, the service was excellent and food even better. The food was fresh and served quickly with good portion sizes..

staff are very attentive and nothing is any bother.

cant wait to go back, excellent all round.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vida also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.