We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and healthy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvester

Harvester
Springfield Quay, Glasgow, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #916 of 1,885 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited the Harvester on a busy Friday night for dinner. It did not disappoint - service was fast, food was fresh (love the free salad bar!) and tasty (had half-chicken). As someone with a sweet tooth, deserts are always my weakness. I was full from the main meal but could not resist sharing a desert (éclairs). The plate was enormous. Between the two of us, we had trouble finishing it.
Food and drink is great value for money too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    35
    18
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Lean harvest”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

With time to spare on a Saturday afternoon I dropped into the Harvester at the Springfield Quay in Glasgow with my wife and two kids. I wish I hadn't bothered.
I have been to the eatery before and to be honest it never really impressed me first time round.
However having watched their advertising campaign on TV recently decided to give it another chance,in the off chance that I had missed something the first time round.

I should really have listened to my instincts and went elsewhere.
One of their selling points involves being able to add as much salad as possible to the dish of your choice.
Most of the dishes are of a grilled meat nature mainly burgers chicken and ribs.
Both my wife and I in this instance elected to have a Gourmet burger with Habaneros relish and fries.The burgers had been overdone and were tasteless even with the habaneros relish.

My daughter had half a flame grilled chicken breast with fries from the kids menu. The portion that arrived was very small and barely fed her. Just as well you can have as much salad with your meal or she would have left the eatery still hungry

The biggest disapointment however was when my son's Harvester combo meal arrived. According to the menu It was meant to be a half spit roast chicken with a portion of baby ribs.
Whoever wrote the menu should have explained to the chef the difference between a chicken drumstick and a half spit roast piece of chicken and they werent kidding when they described the ribs.as baby.
I pointed out the lack of chicken to the waiter who told us that the chicken was of normal standard portion size but he would speak to the chef to see if he could put another piece of chicken on the plate. I thanked him for this. That was the last time I saw him as he never returned to the table nor was the other piece of chicken forthcoming.
Forgive me for my ignorance but I think I can tell the difference between half a chicken and a drumstick. My son's meal equated to just under a tenner for what can only be described as a plate of chips and salad

The next time I have some spare time to spend on a Saturday it definetly won't be at the Harvester

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow but pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick breakfast after a night out however breakfast was not quick. At 11am we were the only people in the restaurant however we waited a considerably length of time for breakfast for two people. Not only this but the very polite waitress had made a mistake with the order. She did apologise and resolved the issue. Atmosphere was lovely however - there was nice music playing and we had a nice seat at the window looking onto the Clyde. Worth the money - cheap and cheerful.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful salad and quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

we have had always had great experiences in the Harvester restaurants. Just wish there were more around the country as we have to travel around 25 miles to the nearest. Food is excellent and service second to none! On this particular occasion we were served by 'Simmy' who was very friendly and helpful making sure we were happy with our meals and asking if we needed anything else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Waited in the very nice bar area for out table to be ready. Very attentive staff. The meals were all very good, although the salad bar was a bit short in a couple of aeas and because we were the last in there, it wasn't replenished. Still, to get a table and good food without a reservation we couln't really complain. Would certainly go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester also viewed

 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.