We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Glasgow to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QE, Scotland (Merchant City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here as a last minute booking through Travel Republic for a night out in Glasgow. We paid £38.00 for a double superior room for 2 with breakfast. Check in was quick and we got a room on the 7th floor. 'Superior' gives you complimentary wi-fi, water, biscuits and newspapers however we noticed this by accident but noticed that our room didn't have the complimentary stuff and we weren't told about the wi-fi at check-in. However. We enquired reception and after confirming it was a 'superior' room we were given the water, biscuits. Wifi code but no newspapers.

No complaints about the hotel although the bar prices are a bit steep but it's a hotel after all.

Buffet breakfast was good with the usual selection of hot, fruit, toast etc etc so had no issue.

Overall, a good stay at a good price (better value than the premier inn). I'd go back but only if the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced on checkin. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    467
    224
    49
    28
See reviews for
183
391
67
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I wanted to like Jury's Inn (believe it or not, it was to be the 'nicest' hotel I would stay in on a 3 week trip to the UK), but I don't know if I'd stay again.

The Good:

Quite a good location for people who want to be in the city-center (though I'd suggest staying ion the West End if restaurants and pubs are your thing). Maybe a 5 minute walk to the bottom of Buchanan Street, the main pedestrian drag with most of city center's nice shops. Also only about a 5-10 minute walk from the Glasgow subway St. Enoch stop. It's near the river, which can be a bit dodgy in the evening, and is very close to a McDonalds where one has to pass hoards of drunken screeching teenagers drunkenly waiting for their Happy Meals (the only McDonald's I've seen with security!).

The room was pretty clean, the bathroom was nothing special but did the job. The room we had was pretty quiet as well.

The Bad

You have to pay for internet. And it's expensive internet, at £10 a day. Kind of ridiculous, seeing as almost every hotel nowadays, even cheapo B&Bs and Holiday Inns, offers free WiFi in their rooms. I didn't want to pay such a high amount for internet so I went to the computer they have in the lobby, sure that at least that was free, but that was pay-as-you go as well. You had to enter a credit card number (on a shared computer in the hotel lobby where anyone off the street can walk in? No thanks.). If you are visiting from abroad, this can be a problem as you'll want to check on reservations, directions to sites, email, etc.

The customer service wasn't great either. No one was nasty, but no one was friendly either. Generally when you walk into a lobby and it's just you and people at the desk, they will greet you. Not here.

The pillows weren't great, and the full bed I shared with my husband was tiny! Seemed like a mini-full, if those exist.

All in all I wouldn't say it was a bad experience, but if you find a hotel in a similar location but it a tad more expensive, I'd choose that one (especially if it has free WiFi).

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and we didn't hear much noise, but we were on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear BrittanyB540 ,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me direct if you would like to discuss the matter further

Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was looking for a place for my wife and I to spend the night after a visit to the Hydro and we opted for Jurys as we had been there before because of it's very central location. As usual check in was easy and the staff were all very helpful even when it came to getting us a taxi on a busy Saturday night. The room was very clean comfortable and warm, what more could you want. In the morning breakfast was a treat and again all the staff were so helpful and if you have a car the hotel have deal with the car park opposite that gives you a discount if you ask at the desk when you are leaving.
I HAVE NO HESITATION IN RECOMMENDING THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your kind comments onto the reception team.
The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.

Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Check in was quick and easy, it was very handy that we got half price parking in the car park across the road. We paid £49 and I wouldn't pay anymore than that to stay there. Bathroom was a little older but seemed clean and the bed was comfy. Fine for a one night city centre stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Fiona,
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we will take your comments on board in relation to the bathrooms. If you are ever returning please let me know -
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.
Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great value for money. We paid £119 for 2 nights in a 3 bed room with breakfast. Fantastic location only minutes walk into the town centre. Housekeeper did a great job of cleaning up room after our first night and laid out all my sons toys on his bed which he was very pleased about. Only downfall if i was to be picky is i had a hot chocolate from the bar both nights and they tasted awful. However, Great value for money will be coming back again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and as result of your comments about the hot chocolate I have arranged to have the machine inspected to ensure that this does not happen again.
The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.
Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for NYE. Hotel was really busy, but didn't have any issues regarding noise. Check in was miserable - girl behind the desk could have cracked a smile, check out was much nicer! Room was clean and modern, although the bathroom could do with being updated. Room & bathroom very clean. Good facilities for an overnight stay & very good location (3 min walk from station & 5 to Buchanan st.) Gripe - cost of food/drink in hotel...rather expensive. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am disappointed with your comments regarding the team and we will take this on board. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct
niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.
Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Jurys Inn Glasgow for four nights over Christmas. The room was spacious and quite given the central location of the hotel and the fact it backed onto the train station. Staff were friendly and attentive, nothing was too much for them. The buffet breakfast was adequate and catered for everyone's needs, but the standard of the cooked food varied from day to day.

The bar got busy especially nearer closing time but if you want a drink after closing the night porter was happy to serve you until the early hours in the morning.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niall_oshaughnessy, Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct -niall_oshaughnessy@jurysinns.com.
Regards,
Niall O'Shaughnessy
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk to Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 min train journey or 20 min walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena - the ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 min walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and from 5pm to 10pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of the 24 hour room service offered in the hotel. If you are arriving by car parking is available within a 3 min walk from the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Jurys Inn Aberdeen offers an excellent 4 star accommodation - our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel provides 24 hour room service. All of our 321 rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, JurysInn, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.