We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May as well had slept in the station!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Glasgow to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Glasgow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QE, Scotland (Merchant City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“May as well had slept in the station!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The only good thing is the location. Right in the heart of the city. My room, 703 was over the railway line. Woken both mornings by the noise of the trains. Terrible. Breakfast poor quality and certainly not worth the £10.00 I paid.
Staff were friendly, room OK, clean. Shower not very powerful and I upgraded to a refurbished superior room. All in all, hotel is nothing to shout about. Just wanted to get some sleep!!!

Room Tip: Make sure it is away from the sound of the trains....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed that your sleep was effected by noise. Our rooms on the station side are triple glazed to avoid these problems however there was clearly an issue on this occasion. I would be grateful if you would contact me direct to resolve the matter - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    336
    168
    41
    24
See reviews for
134
263
47
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in June for the Robbie Williams concert. Fantastic hotel - very modern, rooms were clean and spacious and in a great location beside the river which was handy for us getting to Hampden Park.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast in the morning - lots of choice!
Would highly recommend staying here, and will be returning on our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the concert. The next time you are visiting Glasgow please feel free to contact me direct - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My stay at Jurys Inn Glasgow was a very short one due to my flight into Glasgow being delayed.

I arrived at the hotel at 1.30am and the guy at reception checked me in and advised he would check me into a nice, quiet room so I could get a good night's sleep.

The room itself was very nice. A comfortable bed, modern furnishings and a television with freeview is all I really look for and this room ticked all the boxes.

Unfortunately the room I was given completely contradicted what the receptionist promised me when I was woken at 7am by some very loud noises, only to open my window and find my room was directly outside a train station! Not the best alarm clock to say the least, especially when you have only had 5 hours of sleep!

The breakfast was nice and there was a good variety of hot and cold food available in the buffet.

Besides my 'rude awakening' in the morning, my stay at this hotel was short and sweet and I would be happy to stay here again providing I get given a better located room!

Room Tip: Unless you are waking up very early, make sure you are not given a room overlooking the train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are located right in the city centre which does mean there is train and traffic noise however the triple glazing should have blocked it out. If you are ever returning please let me know and we will make sure you receive a quite room - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few days ago, check in was a snap and the front of house staff were quick and efficient in the check in and let us get to the room a bit early which was nice.. Rooms are fairly generous for the UK, and beds were comfy, not too squishy, which really bothers my back. From the front door of the hotel it's moments to the main walking mall and shopping precinct, always a good thing if the weather goes off.
A couple of minor things, I wish the wifi came without charge and there was a more varied morning menu other than paying more than one might want for a breaks buffet. We ended up eating away from the place because of that. Plenty of places to get a bit of brekky around the place, but many people would be happy to demolish a buffet.
Otherwise, we were pleased with our stay and happy to repeat our time there.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that our breakfast offering did not suit, we really try to cater for everyone and even have a Costa Coffee outlet which offers something different. I hope you found somewhere sutiable nearby. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After a disastrous start to our trip where we had to leave our first hotel because it was so bad the Jurys Inn was a welcome sight and we walked in off the street to be greeted by one of the politest members of staff ever. Great value at sixty-five pounds for a family room for three people. Our air conditioning wasn't working to start with but a quick call to maintenance resolved this.
Clean, value for money, nicely decorated and polite staff, can't really ask for much more can you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that we were able to help you out and that you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever returning please let me know - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I absolutley love this place. Iv always found it very welcoming and very nice to stay in. I have stayed here on most of my visits to Glasgow overnthe past 5 years no and will continue to for a very long time. My friends and I were in Glasgow for a night out last night and we were to stay at St Enochs Hotel. Cut a long story short... it was horrendous. So we left immediately and I told my friends about The Jurys Inn. Luckilly it was just around the corner so we thought we would chance our luck. We arrived at reception and was greeted by a lovely foreign lady with blonde hair. She smiled the whole time booked us in a 3 bedroom for £65. Great value and price. We told her our experience from the previous hotel and she even phoned us when we were in our room to see if we were satisfied with everything. Such a nice girl and I hope to see her again when we come back for our next visit. It was a lovely day and across the road is the Euro Hostel which has a bar so we were able to sit outside the hotel in the Sun with our drinks. Bonus :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted that we were able to help you out and that you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever returning please let me know - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on Saturday 6th July.

As we had an appointment at local hospital at 10am we arrived at 9ish expecting to drop off bags only, although to our delight the very pleasant receptionist didn't catch name sorry foreign light bobbed hair told us a room was free to check in. Further more for a mere £10 extra we could upgrade.

The room was lovely bright spotless with an amazing view of the river from the top eleventh floor.

The shower was excellent with lovely toiletries. The bed was comfy only complaint small for a double.

We never ate in hotel although bar area was lovely.

Hopefully will stay again soon. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry_Rowland, General Manager at Jurys Inn Glasgow, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the team were able to check you in early. We always try our best to get our guests into their rooms early. If you are ever returning please let me know - barry_rowland@jurysinns.com. Regards, Barry Rowland General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Glasgow

Address: 80 Jamaica Street, Glasgow G1 4QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#20 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Glasgow is a four star hotel ideally located within a ten minute walk to Glasgow's 3 major stations - Glasgow Central, Queen Street and Argyle Street. The hotel is an easy 3 min train journey or 20 min walk from the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and The Hydro Entertainment Arena - the ideal place to stay when visiting Glasgow both for business and leisure. For those planning a shopping trip the hotel offers a short 3 min walk to St Enoch shopping centre as well as easy access to a plethora of nearby restaurants and bars to unwind after a busy day in Glasgow. Jurys Inn Glasgow features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which opens from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and from 5pm to 10pm for dinner. Guests can also avail of the 24 hour room service offered in the hotel. If you are arriving by car parking is available within a 3 min walk from the hotel at Qpark Jamaica Street. Jurys Inn Aberdeen offers an excellent 4 star accommodation - our comfortable bedrooms are suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel provides 24 hour room service. All of our 321 rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate refreshment dock and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Glasgow with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Jurys Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.