We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel fine, restaurant disappointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marks Hotel to your Saves list
Marks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Hotel fine, restaurant disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The rooms here are good - well turned out and with proper bathrooms, complete with baths! However, as a solo business traveler, I usually eat in the hotel rather than try to find a nicer place nearby. I've stayed at Marks Hotel 3 times now and each time I've found the food really disappointing. Gloopy "Scotch Broth" soup, overcooked, soggy vegetables. On the other hand, breakfast is great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I was pleased to read that you've stayed with us three times in the past and I do hope you continue to do so.
I'm so sorry dinner has been a disappointment thus far and I'm delighted to say we'll be introducing a new menu in the next couple of weeks, which I hope will be more to your taste.
Please do contact me directly when you next stay as I'd be delighted to have you dine with my compliments and to hear your opinion after.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    399
    187
    46
    24
See reviews for
108
359
63
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a good value hotel in a fantastic position within the city, augmented by excellent staff who appeared happy in their work. A short walk from either of the two city centre main line stations, and close to good bars and restaurants, our party of four stayed for two nights, with breakfast on both mornings and a three course meal on the first night, which was a combined deal on offer.

The food was good without being outstanding, and the main courses would benefit from the addition of some vegetables, but even if we'd had to pay the £17.95 price for three courses, it would have been fair value in such a location. Breakfasts were self service, and with a few minor changes would have been as good as any: for example, both mornings there were no plates beside the toast machine (and it would be great if somebody could invent a fast, safe and reliable toaster for hotels, not just this one).

To the rooms: spacious with plenty seats, both our rooms came with an extra bed. Yes, the tv is small, but a tip to those who complain about this: sit closer to it! I like a lot of pillows, and thankfully there were plenty in this room without me having to ask. However, given the nature and warmth displayed by staff, I'm sure that if we'd needed anything, they would have stepped in and helped out.

I'll look out for the Marks Hotel again next time I'm in Glasgow.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces a brick wall, but this isn't a real problem unless you intend to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we see you next time you have a chance to visit Glasgow.
Kind Regards.
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here with my mum on a shopping/concert trip and it was ideal. Car park close by which the hotel provides a discount for. Twin room was great, plenty room, clean and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Shops within walking distance as well as pubs and restaurants. We had a lovely cooked breakfast before we left. Overall great hotel and perfect location for shopping. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My third stay alone at this hotel.

Room spotless, warm and spacious. Plenty of towels, iron and ironing board.

Very comfortable bed.

I opted for the fixed price menu £14.95 for dinner at One Ten Bar & Grill in the hotel and it was delicious. Staff very friendly and attentive and piping hot food of high quality.

Breakfast wonderful with great selection of hot and cold.

Thanks very much to all the staff at the Marks Hotel who give first class service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel.
I'm thrilled it's your third stay with us and absolutely delighted the staff leave such a positive impression on you.
We look forward to seeing you for stay number four!
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here one night to go to a ball at another hotel. The reception staff were very polite and friendly, and gave us a room on the 6th floor. The room was a good size with a small sofa at the far end. The room actually had a double and single bed, although it would have been nicer to have a king size bed instead of on the current arrangement. The decor may not be to all tastes, but we liked it and was a nice change from your standard bland hotel rooms.

The bed itself was very comfy, but as we were at the back of the hotel the window was a bit small, so we didn't get very much natural light. It is extremely centrally located, and within a couple of minutes walk from Sauchiehall Street. The discounted parking at the Q-Parks car park across the road was also very handy.

I would recommend this hotel if you need a bed for the night, it was excellent value for money. It is the sixth hotel I have stayed in within the Glasgow area, and certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
I'm delighted you think we are one of the better hotels in the city and I do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed one night on a Saturday. Hotel very handy for central station about 5 minutes walk. Nice modern hotel, stayed on room only basis. Good sized room very clean with spotless bathroom both nicely decorated. Our room was on second floor at the front of the hotel. As we sleep with the window open it can be a little noisy on saturday night as Bath street as many bars and restaurants. Not the fault of hotel but just an observation.We arrived before lunch and room was already available which was good being able to put luggage in room. Reception staff very friendly and efficient. Booked an advance offer and at £45 room only,no complaints at all. Would use again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a girls only 2 day break. Hotel was comfortable and very clean decor was a little bright - red! Staff very helpful. Good value for money deal included Dinner on the day of arrival, bed and breakfast. Plenty to see and do, we walked to most places, Christmas lights and market were delightful. Recommend a visit to the Willow Tea Rooms they have meringues to die for in fact we visited on both days. Would definitely stay again as hotel was very central.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Marks Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I'm so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marks Hotel

Address: 110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Bewley's Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Bewley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.