We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex City of Glasgow Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apex City of Glasgow Hotel to your Saves list
Apex City of Glasgow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Marks Hotel) (Cowcaddens)   |  
Hotel amenities
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed one night on a Saturday. Hotel very handy for central station about 5 minutes walk. Nice modern hotel, stayed on room only basis. Good sized room very clean with spotless bathroom both nicely decorated. Our room was on second floor at the front of the hotel. As we sleep with the window open it can be a little noisy on saturday night as Bath street as many bars and restaurants. Not the fault of hotel but just an observation.We arrived before lunch and room was already available which was good being able to put luggage in room. Reception staff very friendly and efficient. Booked an advance offer and at £45 room only,no complaints at all. Would use again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    402
    190
    46
    27
See reviews for
111
365
64
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a girls only 2 day break. Hotel was comfortable and very clean decor was a little bright - red! Staff very helpful. Good value for money deal included Dinner on the day of arrival, bed and breakfast. Plenty to see and do, we walked to most places, Christmas lights and market were delightful. Recommend a visit to the Willow Tea Rooms they have meringues to die for in fact we visited on both days. Would definitely stay again as hotel was very central.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I'm so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year. The room and bathroom were very clean and was good value for money. However the window (which overlooked the side of a neighbouring building) had a crack right across it. As others have mentioned the décor relies heavily on red flock wallpaper which may not be to everyone's taste.

Breakfast was fine with a selection of hot buffet or cold meats etc. However, as another reviewer has mentioned, tea poured from a communal insulated jug was not ideal - is it too much to expected a fresh pot served to your table?

The hotel is ideal for Glasgow's shopping and entertainment centre while a discount is given for parking in the secure Q Park just up the street.

We'd happily return but we were a little concerned to see that the two small lifts bore a typed notice saying that guests should note that only four should travel in the lifts, and not six people as indicated in the lift's internal notice!! One of them did malfunction during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
I was so pleased to read that in general you had a nice stay and would return to stay again.
I'm so sorry there was a maintenance issue with the window, we are aware of this and it is awaiting a replacement.
Please also be assured that the sign outside the lift is purely precautionary. I'm afraid that especially during the summer months six people with six equally heavy suitcases do attempt to squeeze in and this can cause issues with the lift moving from the stopped position due to the weight it's holding.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night the weekend before Christmas while visiting the German market.The hotel is spotless clean and VERY cosy. Its absolutely bang in the centre of the city ....no more than a 10 minute walk from everywhere. We 'did' the market then shopped then drinks in merchant city. Back to hotel for shower then tossed a coin for either the best Chinese restaurant in town(Amber regent) or the newly found Indian restaurant (Assams) both just around the corner. After a fantastic meal we came back to hotel for a few drinks before a very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was buffet style and quite adequate. for city centre hotel I thought the price was great at £76. This is the special offer rate and was non cancellable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment so favourably about the hotel.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Marks Hotel on Monday the 4th of November. We arrived mid afternoon after a short shopping spree. We were greeted very well by the reception staff. One in particular was really nice and enquired why we were visiting Glasgow when we said it was to see a band we end up chatting about music and their was a genuine interest from this staff member we were speaking to, unfortunately we didn't get her name but please ensure she knows she gave great service.

Later after another shopping trip I visited the bar where I was welcomed very well from a member of the bar staff named Emily. She was attentive and even offered to bring the drinks up to our room as I ordered quite a few drinks, great service again!

Later after the gig, I visited the bar and was served from Emily again. Great service again and when my drinks choices weren't stocked by the bar I was offered alternatives. I met Robert at the bar too where we had a great conversation about the cocktail menu and what I had tried earlier that night. It was nice giving feedback and having it heard directly. This encouraged myself and my friend to buy more drinks at the bar because of the welcoming atmosphere we were receiving from the staff.

The price for the hotel is amazing for such a central hotel. The wallpaper might seem a bit garish to some hotel visitors but it's a great change from the bland white / cream walls I’m so used to from other hotels. We had a room at the front of the hotel so there was floor to ceiling glass with sliding doors. The room was a twin room which was very spacious and featured a double and a single bed. Thankfully not one of these fold out camp beds hotels try to get away with. There wasn't that many sockets in the room and the ones that were there where awkwardly placed. Not terribly good if your looking to charge a few devices. There wasn't a safe in the room which I do like to have. There is enough storage space for two for a short stay which is great.

The bathroom was clean and had the most powerful shower I have ever encountered. The soap and shower gel dispensers were a bit different from the usual individual toiletries. No complaints though as most of the time people pinch the little ones you get or bring their own anyway.

There is a gym a few doors down too which is handy, instead of a few machines in a back room that hotels usually have. A day pass is £5.99 but considering the hotel is so cheap this is spare change really.

Some websites listed this hotel as 3* and others 4*. What I took from my visit to the hotel is that It's 3* prices with 4* rooms and 5* service. When booking any trips to Glasgow in the future the Marks Hotel will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
I was delighted to read your feedback and I really do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here 04/01/13 and upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment. Room decor was shabby and paint repairs done in spots here there and everywhere. Small seating area under mezzanine level with an 18" tv wall mounted and mini hospitality fridge in the corner, not what we had expected for a one bedroom apartment upgrade.

Bathroom was clean but very tired with the bath shower curtain set up. Not seen in many central (4*) apartments in these times.

Key points very central and views are good from floor to ceiling windows.

Not one to usually comment after staying, but with staying in many hotels, just felt disappointed in general with room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us.
I was sorry to read that with the exception of the floor to ceiling windows and the view you were disappointed with the suite you stayed in
The suites are all due for a 'facelift' before the summer and may I ask that should you be staying in Glasgow again after this that you contact me directly, where I'll ensure we offer our most competitive rate with a complimentary upgrade next time.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a smart modern room with panoramic views across the city. The breakfast was good but not great. The hotel has a cafe bar on street level which is very pleasant to sit in with a coffee or drinks. I did think the bar menu was overpriced so we ate our lunch elsewhere. We had an inclusive evening meal on our package- that was very acceptable. Overall our stay was very good value and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Face on to Bath Street on an upper floor and get views of the city stretching miles to the distant h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
I was really pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and I do hope we see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apex City of Glasgow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Glasgow Hotel

Address: 110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Marks Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Glasgow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Apex City of Glasgow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Hotel Glasgow
Bewley Hotel
Apex City Of Glasgow Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.