We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with stylish and qwerky decor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apex City of Glasgow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apex City of Glasgow Hotel to your Saves list
Apex City of Glasgow Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Marks Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with stylish and qwerky decor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Good hotel in a decent location, lovely staff and very very large rooms. Excellent value for money. It is a nice hotel but I found the decor bizarre but not in a bad way but there again this is a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was delighted to read that everything was to your satisfaction and I do hope you return to stay with us in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    404
    191
    46
    27
See reviews for
112
366
64
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This a nice hotel-
+ points: very clean, staff were friendly, central location.
-ve points: I found the breakfast to be quite poor, there wasn't a huge choice and croissants & bread were as hard as a brick.

On the whole would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm glad that in general you had a nice stay but I'm obviously disappointed to read your comments on breakfast. Please be assured that I'll be checking on the bakery items personally in the morning, the croissants are baked in house so should certainly never be hard. Thank you for pointing this out and I do hope you return to stay with us in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Great hotel, great location and great rates.

Modern hotel in a central location, clean modern rooms, great breakfast and good staff.

All in all...excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your very favourable review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

In general, it worths staying at Marks. Just that the cleaner will knock your door hard EARLY in the morning.. So remember to put the do not disturb sign out!

The location is really good, many cafes pubs and restaurants surrounding it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm glad you think it's certainly worth staying here and that the location was ideal. I am however terribly sorry you were disturbed early by housekeeping. I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Marks Hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the location and the standard. We arrived at 12pm thinking we would not get our room until check in at 2pm, however the staff, on our arrival, were happy to upgrade us to a room that was ready with city views and on a higher floor for just £10. Our room was lovely and clean and bright and had a really good city view, although mostly offices and rooftops, however we were in the middle of Bath Street so we knew we would not be looking out on hills and valleys! We booked bed and breakfast and this was all confirmed at check-in as pre-paid online, so there was no need to hand over a credit card if you did not want. Breakfast could be served in the Bar 10 restaurant or we had the option to have this in our room, so we did and the standard and range of food provided was really good, including full cooked breakfast, pastries, cereals, cheeses, fruit juices and coffee - we could not finish it all! We did have to pay an extra £4.95 to have this served in our room but the choice of food was more than enough to cover that. So all in all, really nice stay and would recommend to others. The only thing I would say is that keep in mind that the hotel is in the middle of a very busy street, and it can get noisey at night, but not too bad that you can't sleep, but ask for a higher room anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for the very nice comments on your stay. I was delighted that you consider us to be a great Hotel and that the room view and breakfast feature highly. I do hope you choose to stay with us again.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here last weekend for a friends birthday night out in Glasgow. Booked through hotelclub and got the twin room for £52 room only which I thought was a really good deal.

I arrived at the hotel rather early but was surprised and delighted that they had a room ready for me so I could freshen up and leave my bag etc. The man at check in was excellent and he explained Bar and Restaurant opening times and breakfast and check out times.

Bedroom is a good size for the price but bathroom rather small. Not sure if I would pay the full rate to stay here, as there are many other hotel options nearby.

Service at bar was quick and friendly. Check out was very easy with no hassles. Would recommened this hotel for the night if going out in Glasgow as it is very central to shops, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Check for deals online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Marks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the staff service had such a positive effect. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We went to Glasgow to see Take that and stayed on a Friday night, all hotels put the rates up and we paid £155 for the night without breakfast. On the Friday morning we decided to stay a second night and i checked out rates before we left home. On various sites we got rates from £75 up and as we already had a booking i thought i would call the hotel and book direct, as i did for the first night. When i called i was told the room rate was £135 and if i wanted it for less then i should just book through an online site as she couldnt do anything with the rate, so thats what i did,£85 inc breakfast. The chap on reception was helpful on check in , but the room was dissapointing. The hotel has a 4 star rating, but we wouldnt say it was that good, room was quite small and fairly basic in our opinion. There was a double bed as opposed to a queen you would generally find in a boutique type hotel, also no mini bar, bathroom was quite small too. This aside the location was great for shopping and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMarks, General Manager at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I was glad to read that you found the staff and location to be good and I do hope you got the chance to sample some of our Take That cocktails! I'm sorry you were disappointed with the room, currently all of our beds are standard doubles but we do plan to upgrade these in the future. A lot of the third party websites had rooms to sell for us over the event hence the reason you were re directed there, I'm glad you secured a rate that was favourable for your second night.
Kind Regards,
Karen Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#8 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 3,744 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#29 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#9 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#6 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Glasgow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Glasgow Hotel

Address: 110 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 2EN, Scotland (Formerly Marks Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Glasgow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening October 2015, the stunning new hotel features 104 stylish bedrooms including five duplex suites with striking views over the city. Enjoy 4-star quality in the heart of Glasgow city centre at Apex City of Glasgow Hotel. The hotel provides comfort and convenience for both leisure and business guests, with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and stylish, spacious bedrooms. Our Apex Lounge will serve delicious, locally-sourced light bites and a grazing menu throughout the day Situated in Glasgow's city centre on Bath Street, Apex City of Glasgow is an ideal location for shopping weekends, theatre breaks at King's Theatre or the Royal Concert Hall, music venues such as The SSE Hydro or the SECC, or visiting sporting venues such as Hampden Park or Celtic Park Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Apex City of Glasgow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marks Hotel Glasgow
Bewley Hotel
Apex City Of Glasgow Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex City of Glasgow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.