We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the tin.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Save Saved
You added Campanile Glasgow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #59 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what it says on the tin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Its very competitively priced,its clean and its well positioned. Friendly staff and free parking are a bonus.Whoever is running this place is hitting the sweet spot nicely.Thank you for a pleasant hassle free stay in the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Kennym

Thank you for your recent review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and please feel free to contact us directly when next looking for accommodation in the the Glasgow area, we would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements and offer you the best deals going.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    198
    132
    47
    38
See reviews for
54
193
29
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here after a works Xmas party in December 2012. Check in staff were very pleasant, my room was small (for a double) but comfortable, clean and had everything I needed.

Wouldn't be keen to stay for a long period as the room was similar in price to a premier inn which have much larger rooms, but it was perfectly ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Davehippo1

Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction.

Please remember to feel free to contact us directly should you find yourself in the Glasgow area and looking for great value accommodation, as we pride ourselves in offering unbeatable prices and would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements for you.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have reviewed this before as this is our regular stop pover if at SECC or Aramadillo, but it's been a while since we stayed last and a few things have changed.

The food - a lot better - variety, buffet starter now available earlier in evening, and greater more imaginative choice on mains. Breakfast nothing special but not bad for its cost.

Economies - don't have problem with them usually so long as they aren't obtrusive. No hand towels in room - fine so long as you've both not showered night before - nothing worse than wiping face with damp bath towel!! Oh, beg pardon, yes there is - the other obvious economy was in toilet roll quality. Sorry to get basic here, but I've had better thicker loo roll in deepest darkest Africa! Really bad - so thyuin almost not worth having - which means you end up using five times as much for same effect!!

This means I think that next time we'll try the Hilton Garden just over the road - sorry Campanile - cheap loo rolls are one step to far!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Broomsticklady2

Thanks for your recent review. Glad to hear that you have noticed a few new improvements in our food offering. This is an area that is constantly under review and evolving, whilst our menus change with the seasons we always endeavour to offer a variety.

With regards to our linen provision, a decision was taken nearly a year ago to slightly reduce the number of towels that we offered in each room in order to reduce our carbon missions, and play our part in saving the environment. Hand towels were taken out of the rooms leaving two bath towels in each room, and a supply of hand towels available at reception upon request.

I am sorry to hear that we have lost your custom based ultimately on toilet rolls, especially after staying with us on numerous occasions in the past without complaint, and also recognising that we are making changes for the best. We have certainly not changed our toilet roll supplier.

Should you change your mind and need accommodation that represents great value for money you know where we are, we will always welcome you back.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this hote online. Cost £35 with free parking. Busy hotel but very basic. Rooms small. Matress very uncomfortable but great for one night to crash out after a night out in glasgow. Cheaper to book direct on the website.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Pamandandyglasgow

Thanks for your review and the feedback with regards to our mattresses. I am sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable. I wished you had brought this to our attention at the time as we have, and are undergoing some updating of our facilities beds included, and would have offered an alternative room if this was available. We recognise that all guests have different tolerances to the firmness of mattresses and will always endeavour, when this is brought to our attention to assist wherever we can.

Glad to hear that you thought that we were reasonably priced. Whilst you make reference to our offering being basic, we offer what most 3-4 stars hotels offer in terms of services and facilities, and you may be interested to know that the size of our bedrooms are just slightly smaller than the Hilton Garden Inn just across the road. We also offer complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, which some 4 star hotels do not, which I feel represents great value.

Please do feel encouraged to contact us in the future should you be looking for accommodation in the Glasgow area, you will find our best rates on our website and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel a couple of times last month, I found the whole experience perfect, the F&B Manager is from Brittany France, he goes the "extra mile" to ensure you are happy with everything, the rooms are clean and fresh, parking is easy, a wide choice of other Restaurants are within easy walking distance, although the food in Hotel is satisfactory!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Leegee1

Thanks for your recent review. I am over the moon, first of all, to hear that you are a regular with us, we are obviously doing something right! I am glad to hear that you found our facilities and services to your liking, and will most certainly pass on your favourable comments to Guillaume, our F&B manager.

If we can be of service to you at anytime in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and I will ensure you are offered to the best rates going.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed on Hogmanay for a new year party. I would like to thank the staff for a great night and their hard work while working through the bells. The room was clean and fresh. The biggest bonus was the late breakfast and check out, just what you need after a party night. Well done campanile! The manager and staff's response to an emergency situation was also well organised and caring. I would recommend this hotel for good value and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Novorabbit

Happy New Year, glad you hear you enjoyed our New Years eve party, I will be sure to pass on your gratitude to the staff that were working during this period. Delighted to hear that you appreciated the late check out, thought this would go down well after seeing in the New Year and a late night!!!! We did encounter a challenging issue on the night that the team dealt with swiftly, thoroughly and delicately which kept the disruption down to a minimum and hope this did not detract from the special occasion you were here to attend.

Please do not leave it so long to return though, and let us know if you would like us to host any parties throughout the year, that goes for any accommodation as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have stayed several times in there in the past and have had no complaints. On 7th December 2012 we stayed overnight after an Andre Rieu Concert. The room was fine. We had pre-booked a table in the Restaurant - which was a huge disappointment. The staff were totally disorganised. There was a queue waiting to be seated - due to the fact that no-one had cleared any tables previously occupied - I counted at least a dozen littered with dirty crockery etc! We asked for the menu - which was a very curtailed version of that on display in our room - only 4 choices and was hand-written on a scrap of paper! My husband's meal was average. I ordered ravioli. It was a tiny portion and looked "as if baked hard on top" under a warmer in the kitchen. The warmer obviously did not work either as the food was cold. I asked if it could be heated. It was obviously shoved in the microwave and re-delivered to me. It was utterly tasteless and even tougher on top than when originally served.

In the morning, reception was under-manned and the staff were less than courteous.

I would not consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear AnnD

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback after a recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you would not return to stay with us based on this experience, especially after staying with us on previous occasions with no complaints.

On this occasion we did have a full hotel and lots of concert goers attending the Andre Rieu concert at the SECC, therefore in order to accommodate all those that wanted an early dinner we offered an abbreviated pre theatre menu, this is something we always offer when a busy concert has been scheduled and is well received by all generally.

I need to correct you in the hand written menu on a scrap of paper, this is certainly not true and feel that you are trying to mislead other readers that use this platform in deciding where to stay, and also raises concerns about the validity of this review in my opinion. I can assure you we never use scraps of paper when presenting pre theatre menus, these are always typed on A4 paper, some are laminated on occasions, this was double checked on the day. I have checked with all the team working during this period, as they also worked the 12th December when Andre Rieu also played in concert and we had a full hotel, and they inform me that nothing was brought to their attention with regards to the food in the restaurant, other than it was busy.

I also note from your review that you have not marked us in the service category to which your comments refer, but marked us in the sleep category to which you do not make any reference and would be grateful if you could clarify this matter?

It is always disappointing to hear that a previous guest that has stayed with us several times in the past and decides not to in the future, as we do try our best to take care of all our guests the best we can, and certainly encourage guests to bring to our attention any aspect of their stay that is not going the way it should with a view of correcting any issue, and would certainly encourage you to return in order to prove this to you, but also respect your decision not to return also.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Glasgow 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.